HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 stupid(ity) question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: stupid(ity) question   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 1:45

my orc boss just rolled that he must miss 3 games. does that mean that my troll is almost permanently stupid for 3 games

or does somebody fill in the gap for granting leadership purposes (like the one with the highest initiative)?

I guess its the former but hope dies last, doesn't it? Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
WarbossKurgan
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 2867
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-10-04
Age : 45
Location : Morkchester, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 4:57

Almost worth leaving the Troll at home for the next three games too!
I'm afraid you're right - no one gets the Leader skill until the Boss is dead.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.flameon.co.uk
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 5:46

That's the one downside to trolls, the nasty fellows.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 6:13

ok thanks guys. let's see...I think I will still field the troll. maybe Ld4 is more than it seems on paper LOL
Back to top Go down
View user profile
WarbossKurgan
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 2867
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-10-04
Age : 45
Location : Morkchester, UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 7:33

That's the spirit!

Just point him down a long straight street at the start of the game and hope!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.flameon.co.uk
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 8:10

hehe, so I'll suggest a breakthrough scenario next time with only a single street which has exactly the width of a monster base Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 16:49

It depends, sometimes my opponents will focus on the troll even though my leader is gone. Other times they will realize the troll is effectively OOA even though he's on the board. I've had a couple of good turns (rolls of 2. 3 or 4) that made having him on the table worthwhile.

Somehow I have been spared the leader miss a game injury in my last 3 campaigns. Ouch!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
StyrofoamKing
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1354
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-02-16
Age : 32
Location : Chantilly, DC

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 18:24

Well, considering the troll can never DIE, look at it this way:

Fielding Troll with Ld 4 - 1 in 6 chance the troll will be useful
NOT Fielding the Troll - 0 in 6 chance the troll will be useful

Also, he already counts towards your rating, and adds +1 to your rout level, so you really have no reason NOT to.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://sites.google.com/site/styroheim/
playtable
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 426
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-21
Location : Indianapolis, Indiana

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 20:52

Oh, StyrofoamKing, but he can die.
I AMOST killed Von Kirst's troll.
I had a magical flaming sword that took his last wound. Unfortunately, I only knocked him down and someone else took him OOA. The troll died in recovery untill it was remembered that the flaming sword (stops regeneration) was not what took him OOA.

On another subject:
Oh, if only the skaven rat ogre had regeneration, then he would be cost efective.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://s218.photobucket.com/albums/cc193/playtable/
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 21:48

The Troll can die if you play with the Nemesis Crown rules (Black Orc warband?). Nobody objected when I suggested it in Sartosa...

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Thu 16 Dec 2010 - 1:35

StyrofoamKing wrote:
Well, considering the troll can never DIE, look at it this way:

Fielding Troll with Ld 4 - 1 in 6 chance the troll will be useful
NOT Fielding the Troll - 0 in 6 chance the troll will be useful

You're totally right. I might roll a 4 or lower now and then. especially as we houseruled that stupidity is negated as long as the model is in close combat.

Actually I didn't know that I have the option NOT to field models anyway. Smile But I'm sure the troll will still be able to draw some attention on him... I won't pay him 15gc for just standing around in the camp like stupid Laughing


StyrofoamKing wrote:
Also, he already counts towards your rating, and adds +1 to your rout level, so you really have no reason NOT to.

At the start of the campaign (as we are now) I consider it rather a disadvantage to increase the number of casualties needed for rout tests. Especially considering goblins/squigs counting only 1/2.
If you are unlucky you will have 6-8 models ooA (with a warband of 14 members) until you can rout voluntarily. Sure, squigs and goblins are cheap but if you lose 2-3 after every other battle it gets expensive soon. Especially as 15 gc of the trolls upkeep are absorbed additionally. Later in the campaign the orc routing features are great. But at the beginning they can be a financial pain.

But I'm getting away from topic here...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: stupid(ity) question   Today at 13:05

Back to top Go down
 
stupid(ity) question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Stupid Electical Question- 12v Rotating Light
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Dark Fusion / Mirror Force question
» HiME vs Otome. Who will win?
» Stupid things you have done lately!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: