HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 armour / regeneration and critical hits

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: armour / regeneration and critical hits   Tue 14 Dec 2010 - 11:47

let's say a beastman lands a critical hit on an orc who is wearing armour.

the critical hit causes 2 wounds but does not negate the armour save.

is the armour save taken before the doubling of the wound or afterwards? So:

a) one armour save to avoid BOTH in case of success and suffer BOTH in case of failure

b) roll twice for both wounds seperately (resulting in either 0,1, or 2 wounds depending on the rolls)?


.............................................................................

actually i have the same question for regeneration: is the 4+ roll taken BEFORE or AFTER the doubling?

thanks a lot in advance for your answers!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: armour / regeneration and critical hits   Tue 14 Dec 2010 - 12:05

Good question. I don't know if we have any rules to back us but we take 2 armor saves or 2 regeneration rolls. (Or 2 step aside rolls.)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mephysto
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 115
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-29
Age : 32
Location : Meridies Germaniae.

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: armour / regeneration and critical hits   Tue 14 Dec 2010 - 13:41

The extended Critical Hit Tables in the appendix mention (in the rare cases where multiple wounds are caused and armour saves still allowed) that armour saves are taken separately for each wound (Cf. LRB, p. 117), so personally, I would (and do Wink) apply this to all comparable cases (unless noted otherwise - like when using the normal Critical Hit Charts on p. 16 in the LRB, where it is explicitly stated that armour saves are taken before doubling the wound. Razz).


Living Rule Book, p. 117 wrote:
3-4 Bladestorm.
The warrior unleashes a virtual hail of blows. The attack causes 2 wounds instead of 1. Take armour saves separately for each wound. Remember that, as with other critical hits, if an attack causes multiple wounds for other reasons as well, you choose the highest number of wounds.

Living Rule Book, p. 16 wrote:
1-2 Hits a vital part.
The wound is doubled to 2 wounds. Roll any armour saves before doubling the wound.

So at the end of the day, it boils down to what rules you are using - the base ones or the extended ones (and maybe, to a certain degree, how the situation presents itself, fluffwise, i.e. if the damage is the result of many independent woundings or one single hit to a vulnerable spot).
There are precedents for both ways of handling things (and when in doubt, just dice it out).

/Edit: The good thing about this - there is no wrong way. Razz


Last edited by Mephysto on Tue 14 Dec 2010 - 13:58; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
qboid
Elder
Elder


Posts : 309
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-18
Age : 44
Location : Solent, UK

PostSubject: Re: armour / regeneration and critical hits   Tue 14 Dec 2010 - 13:52

It actually says in the book,


CRITICAL HIT CHART
1-2 Hits a vital part The wound is doubled to 2
wounds. Roll any armour saves before doubling the
wound


So you roll 1 save, and if you fail, you take two wounds. That's how we play it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: armour / regeneration and critical hits   Tue 14 Dec 2010 - 14:41

Ah, so since we use the Extended Critical Hit Tables, we roll for 2 saves. Sorted.

We've used them for so long I've forgotten the rules for the regular Crits. Smile
Its all DaBank's fault. Never would have used those "Optional" rules except for him.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: armour / regeneration and critical hits   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 1:48

thanks a lot for your answers. as we are using the extended critical hits, I guess it comes down to roll the armour saves seperately then...

In the case of regeneration I'm still not sure how I would handle this, as it is not really an armour save...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: armour / regeneration and critical hits   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 3:14

Yeah, regeneration is a bit different. I probably would roll them separately.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Rudeboy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 360
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 37

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Restless Dead (BTB) Restless Dead (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: armour / regeneration and critical hits   Wed 15 Dec 2010 - 7:31

The way we play is that if you roll the Crit then you roll to find-out what type of crit it is. If it is the 2 wounds with an armor save then the model you hit would make you would roll 2 armor saves (assuming they have an armor save). For every Armor save they make they get to ignore a wound. So if they make both then they are fine.

Regeneration works the same, but it is in addition to any armor saves. So let's say you attacked a Troll with a dagger, hit and rolled a crit 2 wounds with an armor save. The Troll would get to roll two 6+ armor saves (flaw from the dagger), then if they didn't save the would get to roll the regeneration. If they failed to save on both the armor and the regeneration then they would take the wound as normal.

It is kind of like Parry and Step-Aside, with WS to hit rolls. If the attacking model hits a character with a sword and Step-Aside then the model that was hit could roll for both the Parry and the Step-Aside.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: armour / regeneration and critical hits   Today at 14:51

Back to top Go down
 
armour / regeneration and critical hits
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Critical hits easy fix (?)
» Telly's Hits & Misses (Khoobsurat) - HT (Mumbai) Paper
» New from Inside the armour
» New Release from Inside the Armour 1/35 A10 Cruiser (full kit)
» New from Inside The Armour

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: