HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Magic and number of spells

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Magic and number of spells   Sat 31 May 2008 - 23:36

I feel a little foolish asking this question, because I don't see it in any of the old posts.

Ugh, here goes.

On pg. 56 of the rulebook it states that "each wizard starts with one randomly determined spell, but may gain more. Roll a D6 and consult the appropriate chart. If you get the same spell twice, roll again or lower the spells difficulty by one."

I understand the hows and whens of the 1st spell, but when do we get the second spell. Are they simply implying that one may get more spells with character experience, such as in a campaign? Or do I actually roll for another spell in a single game?

Neutral
Back to top Go down
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Magic and number of spells   Sun 1 Jun 2008 - 3:23

Usually a spell-caster starts with one random spell (or prayer). In one-off games that's it.

In a campaign, they can gain new skills through advances. Whenever they get to choose a new skill they may learn another random spell instead. If they then determine the same spell they already had they may either decrease that spell's complexity by -1 or re-roll to learn another random spell.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Admin Tom
Admin
Admin


Posts : 2590
Trading Reputation : 12
Join date : 2007-08-25
Location : Vienna/Zurich

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Magic and number of spells   Sun 1 Jun 2008 - 9:04

UnderBheit wrote:
Are they simply implying that one may get more spells with character experience, such as in a campaign?

Exactly. As Cianty said: when an advancement roll gives the result "pick new skill" the character (if it is a spellcaster) can choose to roll for a new spell instead of picking a skill.

UnderBheit wrote:
Or do I actually roll for another spell in a single game?

No. Spellcasters get 1 spell. However, you can agree with your friends that spellcasters can have more than one spell for fun in 1-off games.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://boringmordheimblog.blogspot.com
Ashton
Forum Engineer
Forum Engineer


Posts : 1156
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-12-07
Age : 31
Location : Polson, MT

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Magic and number of spells   Sun 1 Jun 2008 - 10:26

And just for the reference:

Mordheim Rule Book - Page 82 - Experience Section wrote:
10-12 New Skill. Select one of the Skill tables
available to the Hero and pick a skill. If he is a
wizard he may choose to randomly generate a
new spell instead of a skill.

This is for when you are rolling advances (level ups Wink) for heros.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://mordheim.ashtonsanders.com
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Magic and number of spells   Sun 1 Jun 2008 - 13:20

Awesome! Thanks for clearing that up.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Magic and number of spells   Today at 0:54

Back to top Go down
 
Magic and number of spells
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Academy of Magic Spell Shop
» Gnoblar Horde/Gut Magic
» secret village of the sepllcasters
» Magic Drain>Infernities?
» Wildheart and Magic Cylinder

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: