HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Thu 2 Dec 2010 - 21:28

Hi,

We have been having a debate recently about spells and effects that cause a warrior to immediately roll on the injury table ignoring Wounds. If these warriors have more than one Wound then do they go back to their full complement of Wounds when they recover or do they stay at 0 Wounds?

Here are some examples of spells / effects...
Quote :
Spell of Doom Difficulty 9
The Necromancer whispers to the sleeping dead to rise up from the ground and seize his enemies.
Choose one enemy model within 12". The model must immediately roll equal to or less than his Strength on a D6 or the dead emerging from the earth will rend him with supernatural power. If he fails, you may roll on the Injury table to see what happens to the unfortunate warrior.

Quote :
Fish-hook Shot
Caused fall: The warrior may declare to try and cause an enemy model to fall instead of causing damage. The warrior must roll to hit as normal and then pass a Strength test. If the test is successful, the enemy model counts as knocked down. Apply a +1 modifier to the Strength test against large models. When a mount gets knocked down, the rider falls off (see 3-4 on the Whoa Boy! table).

Quote :
Magical Aptitude
This skill may only be taken by Heroes capable of casting spells. Note that Sisters of Sigmar and Warrior-Priests may not use this skill. The warrior has a keen aptitude for magic and can push himself beyond normal limits to produce a storm of spells. The warrior may attempt to cast two spells each turn as long as he is not in hand-to-hand combat. After attempting the first spell he must take a Toughness test. If he passes he may attempt a second spell that turn or even cast the same spell twice. If he fails you must roll on the Injury table immediately with no saves, treating out of action results as stunned instead.

We recently encountered an instance where a wizard with 3 Wounds tried to use the Magical Aptitude skill and was stunned or knocked down (I forget which). He subsequently recovered back to standing but the ruling at the time by my gaming group was that he now only had 0 Wounds and therefore he was quickly dispatched once he was charged. This doesn't feel right to me and I believe that he should have gone back to 3 Wounds after he recovered.

What are your thoughts on this?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Thu 2 Dec 2010 - 21:56

We play that a multi-wound warrior who is down because of such circumstance (stunned or knocked down) can be taken out of action as normal if attacked, because he is down and relatively helpless. Once he is back up he has all of his wounds.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lord 0
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 890
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-02-13
Location : Friendship, New York

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Thu 2 Dec 2010 - 21:59

You were totally gypped. He never lost the wounds so he should have had his full compliment when he stood back up.

The way Von Kurst mentions things go for a knocked down/stunned model is correct. To OOA a stunned model you only have to nominate an attack - it will auto-hit and auto-out a stunned model.

Similarly, all you have to do to out a knocked down model is successfully wound it. If it does not save then it will be ooa, regardless of remaining wounds.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Eagle5
Captain
Captain


Posts : 71
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-26

PostSubject: Re: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Thu 2 Dec 2010 - 22:06

Nothing states that the model suffered any wounds, so I wouldn't have taken them away. The rule book mentions not having any wounds left when a model recovers from knocked down, but that was obviously because it had just talked about rolling on the injury chart because an attack had taken away the models last wound (hence no wounds left). In other words the context of the rulebook is that you are suffering wounds in combat, lose your last wound, and here is what you do.

I don't think the intent of these spells/weapons/etc was to instantly strip a target of all wounds no matter what, but to give a temporary vulnerability to a target.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Thu 2 Dec 2010 - 22:52

Thanks all. cheers That was my gut feeling also.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
StyrofoamKing
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1354
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-02-16
Age : 32
Location : Chantilly, DC

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Fri 3 Dec 2010 - 3:41

Well, my house rule is different: if you're knocked down, for example, you're automatically hit- but every successfully wound merely removes one of your WOUNDS (if it's the last wound, OOA as normal). Likewise with stunned- it doesn't require any dice rolls, but each attack automatically takes a wound away... so, a stunned wizard with 3 wounds, if attacked by a warrior with 2 attacks loses 2 wounds immediately.

Not sure about the "Spell of Doom"... that might be an auto-out of action is you roll right, and I'm sure any of my group mates woud argue for that.
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://sites.google.com/site/styroheim/
sartori
General
General


Posts : 183
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-14
Age : 42
Location : Tacoma, WA USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Fri 3 Dec 2010 - 9:33

StyrofoamKing wrote:
Well, my house rule is different: if you're knocked down, for example, you're automatically hit- but every successfully wound merely removes one of your WOUNDS (if it's the last wound, OOA as normal). Likewise with stunned- it doesn't require any dice rolls, but each attack automatically takes a wound away... so, a stunned wizard with 3 wounds, if attacked by a warrior with 2 attacks loses 2 wounds immediately.

Not sure about the "Spell of Doom"... that might be an auto-out of action is you roll right, and I'm sure any of my group mates woud argue for that.

It sounds like having 3 wounds makes it REALLY hard to slit a dude's throat in your games. I always imagined it was like taking candy from a baby.

Since my group house ruled in armour changes and such last year, and there is so much mitigation already (lucky charm, step aside, parry, etc.), this kind of rule change would drag our games out to unbearable levels - guaranteed. But if it works for your group that is awesome.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ordo Septenarius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 227
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-06
Location : Portland, Oregon, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Fri 3 Dec 2010 - 10:05

Nothing ever stated that wounds were lost. They might have been knocked-down, stunned, or even taken OOA, but unless something specifies that those results are derivative of losing wounds, there should be no wounds lost.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Figgy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 365
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-05-04
Age : 28

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Fri 3 Dec 2010 - 10:52

Aye, agree with all posts above.

I could only imagine Rotten the Troll getting knocked down by a fishhook and all his wounds go away without a chance for regeneration...If a Troll trips and falls I really doubt he would be close to death!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rudeboy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 360
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 37

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Restless Dead (BTB) Restless Dead (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Fri 3 Dec 2010 - 14:13

Yeah we play that if you are knocked down then take a wound you are taken out of action, but if you are knocked down, like the Maneater Skill or you trip or slip, or miss a jump but you don't lose any wounds you are just prone, and if you take a wound while prone then you are taken OOA, but if you get-up you never lost a wound.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds   Today at 2:38

Back to top Go down
 
Knocked Down or Stunned and Losing All Wounds
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Can you shoot knocked down or stunned opponent?
» Charging over knocked down, stunned models
» Censorship in Wisconsin--Librarians losing jobs?
» Gerard Butler Talks About Losing His Viriginity
» Who is winning/losing 1st debate.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: