HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Questions on blocked charges not through intercept

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Infamos
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 6
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-29
Location : columbus ohio

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Questions on blocked charges not through intercept   Fri 29 Oct 2010 - 16:55

we had a game this week of sisters vs wood elf's and had a rules question come from it. I (sisters) had my henchmen out front to block the shot so my opponent couldn't shoot my hero's and that worked fine, I had to come around the corner to get LOS to declare my charges. What happened was that he charged me as expected but he staggered his charges so that he could get his treant in on to my augur.

The questions are:
pre charge:


1. if a charge lane is bottle necked with hand to hand combat already can you go through it or do you have to go around? we have always played you can charge through your own troops but not others. my view was it was clogged up if he was going to charge his treant he wouldn't fit. I labeled the charges in the order they happened. This was a remake of the fight scene and is 97% accurate and no models were injured in the making of this scene.
Post charge:


2. if you cant see someone because they are out of los can you declare a charge? we seem to remember a rule that you could but have to roll on leadership? (we could be completely lost also)

3. for a completely off topic question-- does animosity ever stop for orcs like if they are within charge range on the other warband or is it always there?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7018
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions on blocked charges not through intercept   Fri 29 Oct 2010 - 17:42

welcome!

Since we play that friendly models block line of sight we wouldn't have allowed at least one of those charges. Also friendly models should block charges and enemy models certainly block charges.

The way you are playing the intercept rule may as well not exist. His models are pushing past friendly models to charge your closest models. Then his closest models charge your masked models.

You can charge a model within 4 inches if you can't see it if you pass an Initiative test.

I am unfamiliar with Wood Elf warbands so I have no idea what a Treant is meant to be.

Orcs and goblins are only free of Animosity when in combat. (I did play by the 'once in charge range' rule about 15 years ago, but I have no idea where I got the idea that was a rule. People were not happy with me.)



Back to top Go down
View user profile
sartori
General
General


Posts : 183
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-14
Age : 42
Location : Tacoma, WA USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions on blocked charges not through intercept   Fri 29 Oct 2010 - 17:51

The way my group plays it is we declare all charges first. If we have to mark our guys and their targets because it's a giant scrap, we will do so (I like to use dice). After charges are declared the charging player can resolve his charges in whatever order he wants, and the defending player can intercept how he wants. This always leaves the option for the defending player to choose his intercepts wisely, and forces the attacking player to decide if he wants to dedicate multiple chargers on certain targets to try and enable someone to get through. It seems to be working fine as far as we can tell, and we don't see the above example happen unless the defender can't keep it from happening.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ClausLars
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 14
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-09-28

PostSubject: Re: Questions on blocked charges not through intercept   Sun 31 Oct 2010 - 8:57

The only change I've played with to the Intercept rule is to make it at the defenders option, so you can let someone charge past you if you want.

Your example above seems more or less kosher, the only issue would be if any of the chargers came in has to base contact with an enemy en route to their actual target (the treant in particular looks like it wouldn't have had room). If a model can't fit his base through a path he can't take that path, and if it has to come in contact with an enemy then that is the enemy that should have been charged. In your example it seems like the treant either should have been locked incombat before reaching the Auger, or had a failed charge since he couldn't reach his target. (I'm inclined to think a failed charge, but I'm not sure)

Properly staggering you charges is an important tactic in Mordheim. Remember, charges have to be the most direct route so if I have a group of guys ready I'll often charge with the ones in back first since the most direct route will take them to the front of the targets. Then I'll charge the front line in since they'll have the movement available to circle around. If I moved the closer ones first the guys in back would have to circle around and may not have had the range.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JAFisher44
General
General


Posts : 183
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-15
Age : 39
Location : Elma, WA, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions on blocked charges not through intercept   Wed 3 Nov 2010 - 23:42

ClausLars wrote:
The only change I've played with to the Intercept rule is to make it at the defenders option, so you can let someone charge past you if you want.

Intercepting a charge is optional. That isn't a rule change, it's just how things are.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Infamos
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 6
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-10-29
Location : columbus ohio

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Questions on blocked charges not through intercept   Thu 4 Nov 2010 - 21:52

thanks for the fast answers guys
Back to top Go down
View user profile
hero
Elder
Elder


Posts : 310
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-05

PostSubject: Re: Questions on blocked charges not through intercept   Fri 5 Nov 2010 - 13:52

Honestly I don't see how the treant gets back there at all, the base looks too wide to fit between the enemy models, let alone the firendly models. Remember that the model really ought to be able to move along the entire path of the charge, even though you might be lifting it above the action and just placing it will end its move.

I've had a lot of trouble with the vagueness of charges in my games as well. People can really pull some shenanigans and I feel it harms what little semblance of tactics exist in the game when the positions of your models don't mean a thang.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Questions on blocked charges not through intercept   Today at 13:18

Back to top Go down
 
Questions on blocked charges not through intercept
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» mark 3 questions
» Horus Questions
» Newbie Questions
» You have questions, we try to have answers
» Exam Questions gone Wrong

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: