It is entirely possible to roll "complete recovery" when rolling for multiple wounds for a hero after a battle.
We house ruled that if you end up with multiple wounds and then roll complete recovery, that you lose any detrimental or beneficial effect (blind in one eye, fear causing etc) and just make a complete recovery and return to your warband no better or worse off than before. We have actually had this come up twice in about the last six weeks, so it's not totally rare.
How do you lot deal with this? I guess an alternative would be to keep any benefits or injuries he had accrued up to the point he rolled complete recovery.
Or do you just ignore complete recovery on your multiple wounds rolls?