HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Promoted Henchman Question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral
avatar

Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Promoted Henchman Question   Mon 16 Aug 2010 - 19:57

I have had something come up in the solo campaign (six warbands) I have been playing that I don't think has come up before, concerning a talented lad. Well, if you can call a gor a lad.

In all the campaigns before, I have seen lots of promotions, as have we all. But the only ones I have ever seen have either come at the 2 or 5 ex pts bumps or, if higher, have been ignored because the warband already had a full compliment of six superior heroes. But in this case, a beastman warband with only five heroes has had a gor roll TLGT when he rolled after earning nine experience. Obviously, they are going to take him. He already has two bumps (at 2 and 5 experience), and now has a third. But, a hero (which he is now) with nine experience should have four bumps. So... should he roll twice or once?

The question does not arise when a henchman becomes a hero at two experience, since heroes gain their first bump at 2 experience as well.

The question does not arise when a henchman becomes a hero at five experience, since heroes gained their second bump at 4 and the newly-promoted hero now also has two.

But when the henchman becomes a hero at 9, he is on his third bump, but a hero should already have had four. The rules are a little unclear (the whole ticking off boxes thing), but I think a conservative/default ruling would be that in this case the promoted henchman has lost a bump (he? she? it) cannot regain, since when the sixth and eighth boxes were ticked off it wasn't a hero, tough dung gor-boy. But, I am curious how other people have handled this situation. (If I receive mixed responses, I'm going to be generous - the beastmen have been beaten like a drum this entire campaign. Who knew that centigors had glass jaws? And china heads, and paper legs, and etc.? Replacing centigors every couple of games can really hold an honest band of bestial raiders back, I've discovered).

Thanks in advance for your musings.


Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster
avatar

Posts : 7167
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Promoted Henchman Question   Mon 16 Aug 2010 - 20:05

Well when he advances at 5, you roll again at 6 exp right?

I've had the LGT show up at 9 and 14 (there's a real waste, but late in the campaign what are you gonna do?) Anyway at 9 I take only 3 advances. At 14, 4. But I'm one of the +25 warband rating for a Rat Ogre guys so what do I know? Smile

Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral
avatar

Posts : 1459
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Promoted Henchman Question   Mon 16 Aug 2010 - 20:38

We've always played that you lose the extra advances that the warrior would have received if it had always been a hero/had been promoted earlier. It is disappointing but at least the warband now has an extra hero! Smile

@Von Kurst... you must play Mordheim with rules from the dark ages or something. Razz Just kidding! I'm one of those +25 warband rating for a Rat Ogre guys too.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral
avatar

Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Promoted Henchman Question   Mon 16 Aug 2010 - 22:10

Ah, see, now you guys have made Balzad all sulky.

It looked to me like the best answer was the extra bumps are lost, but I was curious how others had played it. Not looking good for B. at the moment.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Gobbo Freak
Elder
Elder
avatar

Posts : 344
Trading Reputation : 7
Join date : 2009-09-08
Age : 33
Location : Tilburg, NL

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Promoted Henchman Question   Tue 17 Aug 2010 - 9:46

So to speak, Sh*t happens....

No extra rolls...

(I can understand the problem though, you are still "checking" your hero XP blocks) Very Happy


We don't use the original sheet, so we don't have this problem...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wyrdstone Dave
Warlord
Warlord
avatar

Posts : 200
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2010-07-21
Age : 47
Location : New Zealand

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Promoted Henchman Question   Tue 17 Aug 2010 - 17:08

I agree with people here. No extra advances for the newly-promoted hero. He wasn't a hero until rolling LGT and now he is. So the experience chart he now uses has changed. I must admit I haven't run into this before either.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
mweaver
Etheral
Etheral
avatar

Posts : 1411
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-01-13
Location : South Texas, U.S.A.

PostSubject: Re: Promoted Henchman Question   Tue 17 Aug 2010 - 18:49

I updated that warband today, and officially only gave him the one bump, not two. Thanks for the input, everyone.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rudeboy
Elder
Elder
avatar

Posts : 360
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 37

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Restless Dead (BTB) Restless Dead (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Promoted Henchman Question   Wed 18 Aug 2010 - 6:25

Yeah you miss-out on the Advancements if your Henchman gets LGT on 9 or 14. It sucks, but the life of a henchman doesn't teach you as much as a life of a hero.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Promoted Henchman Question   

Back to top Go down
 
Promoted Henchman Question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Dark Fusion / Mirror Force question
» Question about Reinforce Truth
» Question on scrap dragon
» Ginkgo Question

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: