My Possessed Magister has been taken out of action a lot in battles. He's never managed to cast his spell (Dark Blood). What I'm wondering is if he can choose to wear armour and carry a shield even though that woudl prevent him casting spells. With his good WS, BS and 2 wounds (thanks to an advance) he'd be a good addition to my frontline fighters. I plan to take the warrior wizard skill when he can but do you think he can start wearing armour now?
We play a house rule where a shield provide a 5+ save to encourage people to use options other than the usual weapon in each hand. So armour and a shield could help him survive. My reading of the rule "a wizard may not cast spells if he is wearing armour or carrying a shield or buckler" doesn't sem to prohibit him wearing armour and not casting spells.
I'd be grateful for your thoughts.