HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Tail fighting + shield?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Konfa
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 11
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-06-13

PostSubject: Tail fighting + shield?   Mon 28 Jun 2010 - 6:28

The skill Tail fighting allows you to take a shield on skaven heros althought they are not allowed to buy them for themselves. This creates a few questions.

a) Are they able to use armour that they according to their EQ list are unable to use?
b) How would you combine this with a houserule that sais +2 save for handweapon+shield in close combat if you link it with weeping blades or similar.

In my opinion giving the skaven hero a 4+ save (LA and sh+hw) with their special weapons, huge amount of models in the warband and already strong CC compartment is too much.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pathfinder Dubstyles
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 772
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-04-10
Age : 32
Location : North Carolina, US

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Tail fighting + shield?   Mon 28 Jun 2010 - 7:32

Quote :
Q: Tail Fighting allows the model to use a shield, yet most Skaven Heroes
cannot get shields. How can this skill be used?
A: Darn, I knew I should have corrected that (-Tuomas). Oh well... yes, you
are right - Skaven Heroes other than Night Runners and promoted Verminkin
cannot use shields [Games Workshop Official Mordheim's FAQ]

So night runners and promoted VK could use a shield with tail fighting. At least they have otherwise limited weapon selection and skill lists to help balance things out.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.creativecasualty.net
HornedRat
Elder
Elder


Posts : 365
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2008-12-19
Age : 44
Location : Culver City, California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Tail fighting + shield?   Tue 29 Jun 2010 - 10:33

I have always wondered if that was an error being that on the Skaven Hero list Bucklers are listed, and on the henchmen list shilelds are listed.

Also, since your warband can have a stash. Wouldn't you just be able to buy a shield stick it in the stash and next game equip it on your hero? Or even buy it inbetween games?

I know I there is some rule about not being able to use weapons on your starting list, but I didn't think this applied to armor? Am I mistaken? Pulling out the rule book now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pbase.com/therat
Glapojke
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 6
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-06-19

PostSubject: Re: Tail fighting + shield?   Tue 29 Jun 2010 - 12:02

Well, my interpretation (pre-FAQ) was that they couldn't use shields, because it weren't listed in their eq-list. But, since the skill outright stated that they could use shields, I thought that it was supposed to be a little like "weaponsmaster", i.e. they could use shields in their tails, when they got the skill.

However, as of post- FAQ, this was totally wrong. No sheilds if they arent allowed to use henchmen-gear, which is only LGTed Verminkin and night runners Sad
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Tail fighting + shield?   Today at 21:36

Back to top Go down
 
Tail fighting + shield?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Skaven: Art of silent death + tail fighting?
» Tail Fighting + Fighting Claws?
» China cream tea tray with two lions astride a shield
» Lego Shield
» 1991-1992 Caprice Tail Lites

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: