HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 BTB Marauder Question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Rudeboy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 360
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 37

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Restless Dead (BTB) Restless Dead (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: BTB Marauder Question   Tue 27 Apr 2010 - 6:17

Marauders are allow to take Mutant as a Marauder Skill.

mutant
The Hero may buy one mutation. See the Mutations
section of the Possessed on special rules. Heroes with
the Mark of Onogal may choose a Blessing of Nurgle
instead (see Empire in Flames, page 66) except the
Mark of Nurgle. Unlike other skills this may be taken
more than once.


What does it mean by buy? I am guessing it means pay the gold cost associate with the Mutation

So if I picked scorpion tail it would cost me 40 gold.

If that is correct would any mutation beyond the first cost double?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
folketsfiende
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 998
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2009-05-08
Location : Stockholm, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Tue 27 Apr 2010 - 6:41

Your first assumption is definitely correct, and from the wording in BTB and the Possessed rules I believe your second one is likewise.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Tue 27 Apr 2010 - 7:15

Like folketsfiende said, yes to both questions. thumbsup

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Pathfinder Dubstyles
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 772
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-04-10
Age : 32
Location : North Carolina, US

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Tue 27 Apr 2010 - 19:27

Please note that if you plan on buying mutations as a skill, you must save the gold in your stash beforehand since advancement happens before income.

I see this as the hero making the necessary tribute and rituals to attract the chaos gods, then waiting to be blessed.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.creativecasualty.net
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Wed 28 Apr 2010 - 2:13

Pathfinder Dubstyles wrote:
Please note that if you plan on buying mutations as a skill, you must save the gold in your stash beforehand since advancement happens before income.

That's certainly true, although in my group we are not that strict. Embarassed

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Rudeboy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 360
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 37

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Restless Dead (BTB) Restless Dead (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Wed 28 Apr 2010 - 6:18

Thanks I was pretty sure I was right, because if I could just get a mutation every skill up-grade then why would you play Possessed? I like the tribute idea, it makes sense and it is good flavor text.


On another note are there limits on Mutations a character can have? We play with a house rule that you can only have 5 of the same mutation.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Wed 28 Apr 2010 - 7:06

There is no official maximum to the number of same mutations. You can have 100 arms. I have never seen anyone use an absurd number or combination of mutations (mostly due to their prohibitive costs) so I never found it necessary to limit them. Of course, it is questionable whether certain mutations (hoofs) should provide additional benefit after the first (although if the player actually changed man to having two hoofs after the first, and then to centaur after the second, I'd welcome him to do so).

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Skavenslayer
General
General


Posts : 155
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-05-25
Age : 34
Location : Kokkedal (DK)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Wed 28 Apr 2010 - 10:48

Also remember, you can only learn at skill once, so only one mutation for each hero i a marauder/beastmen warband

-skavenslayer
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Wed 28 Apr 2010 - 15:48

Rudeboy wrote:
The Hero may buy one mutation. See the Mutations
section of the Possessed on special rules. Heroes with
the Mark of Onogal may choose a Blessing of Nurgle
instead (see Empire in Flames, page 66) except the
Mark of Nurgle. Unlike other skills this may be taken
more than once.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Skavenslayer
General
General


Posts : 155
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-05-25
Age : 34
Location : Kokkedal (DK)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Thu 29 Apr 2010 - 3:28

Ok my bad, but then you should re-name the skill.
The beastmen warband got the same skill, but it says nothing about taking it more the once.

Can be a little confusing with 2 different skills with the same name. I know it is in 2 different warbands, but still.

-Skavenslayer
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Thu 29 Apr 2010 - 3:50

Yeah, but for once I figured I could expect people to not neglect 25% of the rules text. Wink

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Rudeboy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 360
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-01
Age : 37

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Restless Dead (BTB) Restless Dead (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Thu 29 Apr 2010 - 14:08

Does the Sigmar Hammer give a +2 bonus to strength against any of the Marauders.

We were talking about it and we were thinking no for everyone except the Condemned Hero.

We also were debating anyone with a mutation as well.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Skavenslayer
General
General


Posts : 155
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-05-25
Age : 34
Location : Kokkedal (DK)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Fri 30 Apr 2010 - 0:42

Yeah, its a good point, my problem is probely when i see a skill name i know, i dont read i again. ex. if a see "mighty blow", i dont read the skill again.

Regarding the hammer i would say: condemend, the spawn, shaman and leader with mark, is all effected by the hammer.

-Skavenslayer
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Fri 30 Apr 2010 - 2:43

Good question, Rudeboy. I am not sure about the "any Possessed or Undead models" bit of the hammer's rules. Does it refer to the warband or the model? I assume to the Possessed Hero type, because they are similarily addressed in the mutations section and the hammers would be very strong against the warband otherwise (and I don't think Brethren are that tainted to deserve this disadvantage).

Anyways, for Marauders the answer is: The Sigmarite Warhammer Holy Weapon rule affects the Condemned, Seer and Spawn of Chaos from the Marauders of Chaos warband.

Skavenslayer wrote:
Yeah, its a good point, my problem is probely when i see a skill name i know, i dont read i again. ex. if a see "mighty blow", i dont read the skill again.

Yes, I understand that. Since this is not a standard skill I figured I might get by with it. I'll see if we can find a slightly different name for the next version to avoid any confusion.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Skavenslayer
General
General


Posts : 155
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-05-25
Age : 34
Location : Kokkedal (DK)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Fri 30 Apr 2010 - 3:22

Regarding the "any Possessed or Undead models", im pretty sure it was FAQ once. Think it was, on the possesed warband: the magister, mutants, possesed, darksoul and maby the beastmen (but not sure about those). Undead was, i think: vampire, necromancer, zombies and dire wolf.

I think a marauder leader with mark should be affectet also, he is blessed and gifted by the power of chaos, the hammer would work on him. (im gonna play it like this, it make sence to me)

Regarding the skill name, maby somthing lige "chaos mutation".

-Skavenslayer
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pathfinder Dubstyles
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 772
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-04-10
Age : 32
Location : North Carolina, US

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Sat 1 May 2010 - 23:11

The FAQ pertaining to this blessed weapon dilemma:
Quote :
Q: With regards to blessed weapons, which wound undead and possessed on 2+. Do the list members here think that this would refer to all members of an undead or possessed warband (excluding hired swords) or just undead like vampires, zombies, dire wolves, and maybe ghouls but not necromancers and dregs? And with possessed, just possessed models, not beastmen, mutants, or magisters etc. (which would seem odd)?
A: Holy water (the question I had) only effects undead models (my question was concerning the undead). Since Dregs are human, they are not affected. Same with the necromancer. The manual actually states that zombies and dire wolves are undead, and therefore can be wounded. However, I cannot find the part in the book where it says vampires are undead. Naturally they are (although I am not an expert on vampires), but ... [recommended]
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.creativecasualty.net
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: BTB Marauder Question   Today at 15:13

Back to top Go down
 
BTB Marauder Question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Dark Fusion / Mirror Force question
» Question about Reinforce Truth
» Question on scrap dragon
» Ginkgo Question

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: