HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Sigmarite Warhammer

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
CygnusMaximus
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 230
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-07-15
Location : Utah, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Averlanders Averlanders
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Mon 10 May 2010 - 20:52

Sounds like Joker2and53 picked the right warband, then!

And Nastyogre, I didn't mean to come off as being rude or short-tempered in my post - I was just typing with a toddler on my lap and you have to choose each word carefully since it takes a LOT of effort to type in that situation. Now that I am toddler-free (for the moment), I hope you forgive me the somewhat curt and impatient post.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Konfa
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 11
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Sun 13 Jun 2010 - 16:30

I posted a similar question at sg just now, wording it like this:

"Since these two rules were written back when there where no other
"chaotic"/"unholy" warbands than undead, possessed and skaven I would
like a clarification of what enemy models that actually are affected by
these skills/weapons?

Hammer:
Carnival of Chaos deamons would surely be included, but does the
"Possessed" wording mean the Possessed warband (The capital P would
imply it to refer to the actual warband, se for example "Possessed
skill tabel" vs. the actual hero named "The possessed". The rule
however is not consistent as in the Mutations rules the herotype is
refered to as "Possessed", in it's own rules thought it's mentioned
with a "the" infront of Possessed). If it refers to the warband it
would also include its beastmen, and could that interpretation be
stretched to include also the Beastmen warband?

Skill: Affects RAW all Possessed, undead and skaven warband. Would that also include Carnival and Beastmen?"

Link to the topic: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/forum/index.php?topic=1446.0

As I posted on sg, writing Possessed with capital P in my head implies the warband and not the hero type. Se for example the use of capital letters in the Righteous fury rule and the mention of "the Possessed" in Possesseds own rule. I'm aware that this is not concistent thought.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7024
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Sun 13 Jun 2010 - 17:29

Welcome, I think you will get a quicker Rules Mod response from Specialist, but please do join our discussions.

db wrote:
The mordheim Annual (p106) says that blessed water and weapons affect actual undead (vampires, zombies, dire wolves), magister, possessed, mutants, and dark souls.

So following that example all models in the Carnival of Chaos warband, except the brethern would be affected.

Since beastmen in the possessed warbands aren't affected neither would the average beastman be in the beastman warband, unless they have a mutation. The beastman shaman though is like the magister a servant of the Dark Gods and uses the Chaos Rituals list like the magister so likely would be affected by holy weapons.

We have the above quote from the Annual. I don't understand including the Skaven warband since clearly they existed when the rules were written and are not included then.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Konfa
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 11
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Mon 14 Jun 2010 - 0:21

I might have misunderstod your post but did the "We have the above quote from the Annual. I don't
understand including the Skaven warband since clearly they existed when
the rules were written and are not included then." concern my: "Skill: Affects RAW all Possessed, undead and skaven warband. Would that also include Carnival and Beastmen?"

Skaven are affected by the Righteous fury by the original wording of the rule.

On the matter of the hammer thought, I agree that they are not affected by the hammer and various other special skills with the same wording as the holy weapon.

Thx for the Annual quote
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7024
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Mon 14 Jun 2010 - 5:18

My confusion. I didn't understand that you were asking about 2 separate things.

Righteous Fury. Got it. Sorry about the above confusion.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Thu 10 Mar 2011 - 3:28

I got a question about that "+1 to wound rolls". Is it identical to having +1S or not?

1) does it affect armour penetration (an additional -1 AS against affected creatures)?

Example: So lets say a sister (S3) wielding a warhammer (so S4) wounds a vampire in heavy armour. Does she get -2 AS (as if she would be hitting with S5) or still -1 AS?

2) does it affect the ability to land critical hits against higher toughness?

Example: Same sister attacks same vampire (T6). Can she land a critical hit against the vampire (as if she were attacking at S5)?

3) the S+1 in the entry is against ALL enemies and IN ADDITION to the +1 to wound, isn't it?

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Konfa
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 11
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Thu 10 Mar 2011 - 8:24

1) No it does not. That is one of the main points of specifying it to work only on "to wound rolls".

2) Yes it does as you no longer need to roll a natural 6 to wound.

3) Yes
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Thu 10 Mar 2011 - 11:17

Konfa wrote:
2) Yes it does as you no longer need to roll a natural 6 to wound.

are you sure? what about this quote then (on the sigmarite hammer):

Quote :
"... The warhammer has a +1 bonus on
all to wound rolls against any Possessed or
Undead models. Note that you will still need to
score a 6 before any modifiers in order to cause
a critical hit."

I never yet encountered another situation whre you get a "+1 on to wound roll" so I don't quite know how those two rules interact...





Last edited by Dahag on Thu 10 Mar 2011 - 11:25; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Konfa
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 11
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-06-13

PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Thu 10 Mar 2011 - 11:23

Your quote sais that you need to roll a natural six to make a critical hit. And the rules for critical sais that you can do a critical hit as long as you don't need a natural six to wound, which you don't need in this case.

The quote only tells you that 5 does not automatically bounce up to 6 to become a critical hit.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dahag
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 222
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-05-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Thu 10 Mar 2011 - 11:29

oh yes of course. i mixed that up. thanks a lot for the help in putting this straight (especially that fast Smile )
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Sigmarite Warhammer   Today at 4:58

Back to top Go down
 
Sigmarite Warhammer
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2
 Similar topics
-
» Witch Hunters w Brazier Iron/Sigmarite Warhammer Opinion...
» The Sigmarite Warrior Priest HS (TC#28)
» Sigmarite Hammer
» Brotherhood of Manann
» For the Warhammer Fans:)

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: