HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Lure of Chaos - leadership

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Thorwald
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 20
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-02

PostSubject: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Mon 7 Dec 2009 - 5:04

Can the affected model test on the leadership of it's leader (within 6") to see if it's still affected by Lure of Chaos? or must it always use it's own leadership?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Meister Ostalgie
Champion
Champion


Posts : 41
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Mon 7 Dec 2009 - 15:47

From the Official FAQ:
Quote:
Q:If a model casts the Lure of Chaos spell, can either the caster or the target use their Leaderís Leadership if heís within 6Ē (because of the Leader special rule)Ē?
A: No. The Leader special rule will only help with Leadership tests, and this isnít one.
The question is... more specific: "Say a model is under the influence of the Lure of Chaos in this round. In the next round, in the recovery phase, it may roll 2D6 to see if it can overcome the Lure of Chaos. May it use its Leader's Leadership if it is within 6" of the Leader?

Quote:
Lure of Chaos
The Chaos Mage calls upon the taint of chaos which exists in the inner soul of all living beings. The spell has a range of 12" and must be cast on the closest enemy model. Roll a D6 and add the Chaos Mageís Leadership to the score. Then roll a D6 and add the targetís Leadership to the score. If the Chaos Mage beats his opponentís score he gains control of the model until the model passes a Leadership test in his own recovery phase. The model may not commit suicide, but can attack models on his own side, and will not fight warriors from the Chaos Mageís warband. If he was engaged in hand-to-hand combat with any warriors of the Chaos Mageís warband, they will immediately move 1" apart.
I think it can, because the it has to pass a Leadership test, meaning it may do so helped by the 6" Leadership Rule.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mortimer
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 205
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-10-19

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Mon 7 Dec 2009 - 18:22

It is abit ambiguous, so I can only offer my opinion ... I'd say no, as I think it represents the individuals own willpower to overcome the spell, something the Leader can't really convey his own into him with just yelling orders (I suppose you could argue he tries to yell some memorable moments or the like to snap the victim out of it, but that seems abit to ... Saturday morning cartoon for my taste).

Just my 2c
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Gobbo Freak
Elder
Elder


Posts : 344
Trading Reputation : 7
Join date : 2009-09-08
Age : 33
Location : Tilburg, NL

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Tue 8 Dec 2009 - 10:12

I think the leader will try to help the warrior come to his senses, not in the way of shouting orders, but more like "Get yourself together lad!!"
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Opheliate
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 855
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Tue 8 Dec 2009 - 11:14

Gobbo Freak wrote:
I think the leader will try to help the warrior come to his senses, not in the way of shouting orders, but more like "Get yourself together lad!!"

Yeah, and maybe even the mere sight of the leader actually affects his will as the spell actually affects your loyalty too. And where does the models original lyalotie lie, well, at the leader, so I would definately count the Leader rule as being able to affect the Ld test.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/denofdamnation/
Pathfinder Dubstyles
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 772
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-04-10
Age : 32
Location : North Carolina, US

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Tue 8 Dec 2009 - 19:34

Since the first test is not a leadership test the leader may not help. The second and subsequent tests are leadership tests, so the leader may lend help if able.

I feel this spell is only really good for taking over animals, or skaven outside of the leader' control, since they get 2 chances to resist before you can use the model. I let loose a heavy sigh the first time i rolled it up...

One tactic to is to charge into an enemy already in combat with one of your warriors, who also happens to be in base-to-base with one of his warriors, and then cast it. If it works, you can get at least one round of combat in your close combat phase against the previous ally of the controlled model before it can take a leadership test to resist at the start of it's turn.

Phew! That was difficult to explain!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.creativecasualty.net
Meister Ostalgie
Champion
Champion


Posts : 41
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-12-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Wed 9 Dec 2009 - 4:00

Pathfinder Dubstyles wrote:
Phew! That was difficult to explain!
Too bad the person in our group playing Possessed never visits this forum.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mithras
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 110
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-17
Age : 43
Location : Rotjeknor, The Netherlands

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Sat 12 Jun 2010 - 4:43

Last night, I managed to cast this spell succesfully on my opponents' possessed (who was slaughtering some of my guys) and charged him into an enemy model!

Now my question is: if a mind controlled guy puts someone out-of-action, who will get the XP? The controlled or the controlling model?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Sat 12 Jun 2010 - 8:20

The Possessed, he caused the wound.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Gobbo Freak
Elder
Elder


Posts : 344
Trading Reputation : 7
Join date : 2009-09-08
Age : 33
Location : Tilburg, NL

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Sun 13 Jun 2010 - 3:50

+1 Xp, Per enemy model OOA. For the possessed, it's not his enemy, only for that moment....
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Lure of Chaos - leadership   Today at 23:52

Back to top Go down
 
Lure of Chaos - leadership
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Lure of Chaos
» Engine of chaos ideas (?)
» Salvo Chaos deck
» Chaos Stun Deck(1st Attempt)
» Shadowlord and chaos worshipper fluff

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: