HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
smokezombie
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 282
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Age : 38
Location : London...UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Fri 27 May 2011 - 3:19

I would say that if there are no skills that you can take ( ie you've allready taken them all ) than reroll the advance, if it's a case of there being skills left that you don't want to take than you probably have to suck it up and take one anyway Sad
Thats my take on it anyway.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
d.j.



Posts : 4
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-11-03

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Thu 3 Nov 2011 - 10:06

First of all, hello everyone! Have some problem here in Poland with Hired Swords. Everyone here uses them in single game, outside campaign. What is the story with this guys? Can one use them in campaign only, or is it possible to put them in ones warband even in single battle?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dribble Joy
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 139
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-08-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Thu 3 Nov 2011 - 10:29

One off games are made using the normal warband creation rules as at the beginning of a campaign. You simply pay the Hire Price to include them in the warband.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
d.j.



Posts : 4
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-11-03

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Thu 3 Nov 2011 - 10:38

So U actualy can create warband using only 3 heros and full hired swords party for single game? that is not much fair...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dribble Joy
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 139
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-08-21

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Thu 3 Nov 2011 - 10:50

Remember you can only have one of each type of hired sword. So you can't take 10 elf rangers.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
d.j.



Posts : 4
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-11-03

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Thu 3 Nov 2011 - 10:53

Still, who's gonna take any one alse? It is always better to take HS then a regular, it's cheeper, better and U do not have to pay his wages after the battle Sad
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Thu 3 Nov 2011 - 13:27

Thats what house rules are for. You can limit to just 1 Hired Sword if thats what you want.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
d.j.



Posts : 4
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-11-03

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Mon 7 Nov 2011 - 10:23

Damn it! I studied rulebook again and again and i see very clearly, that hired swords are only in one section: Campaign. There is not even a single word about them in single battle section. I guess the intention was to use Hired Swords in Campaign only from the very begining, why alse there is no mention of them in any other part of the rulebook? I read the campaign section and it says that i can hire them when i create my warband, or later during the campaign. Campaign! It is campaign section, so it covers warband creation in campaign, not single battle.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Alex
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 818
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2011-07-17
Age : 32
Location : Esbo, Finland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Merchants (BTB) Merchants (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Thu 17 Nov 2011 - 7:11

If you want to use the hired sword in a single game do so. There is nothing stopping you. However I think that using a warband with only three heroes and a bunch of hired swords would be a bit lame (although technically you can take a leader with dagger and two really cheap henchmen with daggers for more gcs for hired swords) Laughing

Since mordheim is anyway designed to be played as a campaign a lot of the rules are centered around that.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jape
Captain
Captain


Posts : 63
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-26
Location : Liverpool

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Fri 30 Mar 2012 - 6:05

I have a question about talented lads and limited henchmen groups, any help is appreciated:

Say you have 3 Beastmen in a Possessed warband, the maximum number allowed, and one of them is raised to become a hero, can his henchmen spot be filled by a new Beastman - ie raising the total number in the band to four?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Alex
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 818
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2011-07-17
Age : 32
Location : Esbo, Finland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Merchants (BTB) Merchants (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Fri 30 Mar 2012 - 6:13

I would say no since you still have 3 beastmen in total even though one of them is a hero
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Jape
Captain
Captain


Posts : 63
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-26
Location : Liverpool

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Fri 30 Mar 2012 - 6:20

Alex wrote:
I would say no since you still have 3 beastmen in total even though one of them is a hero

I'd agree, but when you get into less clear cut units in other warbands, I think it gets a bit tricky - for instance what about swordsmen in mercenary warbands? They're just humans but they do have superior CC skills.

I asked more out of curiousity than anything - personally I'd push any campaign the question was raised in to take a conservative route and say raised heroes count to the maximum, but I think its grey enough it could cause problems.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pervavita
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 719
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-09-12
Age : 35
Location : Seattle WA (USA)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Amazons (Unofficial) Amazons (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Fri 30 Mar 2012 - 10:32

it's not about race but about "what" the unit type is.
Take Mercs, you can have 0-7 Marksmen, if one gets LGT then he is still a Marksmen and thus counts to your 0-7 max.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Fri 30 Mar 2012 - 16:54

This is definitely a frequently asked question. Some members of my group ask every campaign just to see if the answer will change, but its easily answered. The new hero doesn't become something else just because he's now a hero, he remains whatever he was, be it a swordsman or a marksman or a beastman.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
GodGoblin
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 16
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-04-16
Location : London Baby!

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Thu 19 Apr 2012 - 6:02

The Witch Hunters rule Burn The Witch gives Hatred to spellcasters, does this include War-Priests and Sisters of Sigmar Matriachs?

I would say yes as if we were put against each other the Witch Hunters would justify it to themselves that the enemy is corrupt and impure etc. And from a purely mechanical standpoint I believe they are for all purposes Spell Casters.

Just wanted clarification as the campaign starting soon my Witch Hunters will be put against the Outlaws of Stirwood Forest who also get a War-Priest so asking in preparation.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lemariont
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 15
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-04-19
Age : 39
Location : Zaragoza (Spain)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Thu 19 Apr 2012 - 16:25

Hello from Spain.

(I hope this will be the questions site..)

Have the Warplock pistol of skavens the rule hand to hand? in the description of skavens warband no apear it, seem only to shot, no for close combat. But is so strange... is a pistol... isnīt it?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Stronzo
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 241
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-03-22
Age : 33
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Thu 19 Apr 2012 - 21:30

i've always treated warplock pistols as a pistol variation in all aspects. But now that you mention it, it is rather strange that the weapon itself has so little in the way of discription.
However the dramatis personae uses his warplocks in cc Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lemariont
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 15
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2012-04-19
Age : 39
Location : Zaragoza (Spain)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Fri 20 Apr 2012 - 3:17

Hello Stronzo,

Yes is so strange, in description of Vestik seem like he can use it.

But in the beginign i thougt was an errata but in englisg rulebook it the same, without hand-to-hand rule.

I usually play as a pistol with the rule hand-to-hand, but a clubīs player speak about it and we have the dude now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Sat 1 Sep 2012 - 6:33

With no official Rules Review in sight I am locking this thread for now. If things ever change it will be unlocked again.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here   Today at 2:42

Back to top Go down
 
Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2
 Similar topics
-
» Mordheim Rules Review & FAQ - Post your questions here
» Rules for Lesser Daemons in Mordheim?
» Mordheim Base Rules
» Warhammer RPG
» The Ultimate Mordheim Rulebook (by Templars_Knight)

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: