HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 [Ostlanders] Skill question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
5thelmt
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 15
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-11-09

PostSubject: [Ostlanders] Skill question   Sun 22 Nov 2009 - 12:00

Hello, i am not a native english speaker, so sometimes things are unclear to me

Could you please tell me what is the exact meaning of this sentence in the Foul Odor skill description?

"all living ennemies are at -1 to hit him". Does it mean:

- that rolls to hit are just 5+ instead of 4+ for instance
- rolls to hit are the roll minus 1, for instance a 5 becomes a 4.

The difference is that second solution makes parries easier

Thanks a lot
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Opheliate
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 855
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: [Ostlanders] Skill question   Sun 22 Nov 2009 - 12:07

My interpretation is.

You roll a 5 on a dice to hit. You have -1 to hit, which means you scored a 4. However, the dice still would count as a 5 for purposes of parrying.
This is beacause it only says its -1 to hit, not -1 on the dice result when you roll to hit.

Thats how I would do at least.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/denofdamnation/
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: [Ostlanders] Skill question   Sun 22 Nov 2009 - 13:57

Opheliate wrote:
My interpretation is.

You roll a 5 on a dice to hit. You have -1 to hit, which means you scored a 4. However, the dice still would count as a 5 for purposes of parrying.
This is beacause it only says its -1 to hit, not -1 on the dice result when you roll to hit.

Thats how I would do at least.

As above post. -1 to hit means -1 on the dice roll of the enemy.
Back to top Go down
CygnusMaximus
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 230
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-07-15
Location : Utah, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Averlanders Averlanders
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: [Ostlanders] Skill question   Mon 23 Nov 2009 - 13:02

Please forgive my ignorance, but where does it say it doesn't affect parrying? I've always played parries as not being affected by negative modifiers, but the OP has got me thinking that they are...

The rules state:

"Roll a D6. If the score is higher than the number your
opponent rolled to hit, the buckler or sword has
parried the strike. Note that it is therefore impossible
to parry a blow which scored a 6 on the roll to hit."

"Parry: Swords offer an excellent balance of defence and offence. A
model armed with a sword may parry blows. When his opponent rolls
to hit, the model armed with a sword may roll a D6. If the score is
greater than the highest to hit score of his opponent, the model has
parried the blow, and that attack is discarded. A model may not parry
attacks made with double or more its own Strength they are simply
too powerful to be stopped."

and:

"Parry: A model equipped with a buckler may parry the first blow in each
round of hand-to-hand combat. When his opponent scores a hit, a model
with a buckler may roll 1D6. If the score is greater than the highest to hit
score of his opponent, the model has parried the blow, and that attack is
discarded. A model may not parry attacks made with double or more its
own Strength they are simply too powerful to be stopped."

The basic Parry rule states that you must beat the "hitter's" roll, though the rule as it appears in the Sword and Buckler entries says "score" - I could understand the interpretations given above with the ambigiousness of the first entry, but when it refers to a "score", I think means it would be the roll -1 for the skill.

Is there something I'm missing?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
5thelmt
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 15
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-11-09

PostSubject: Re: [Ostlanders] Skill question   Mon 23 Nov 2009 - 14:41

mrbretonnia wrote:
Opheliate wrote:
My interpretation is.

You roll a 5 on a dice to hit. You have -1 to hit, which means you scored a 4. However, the dice still would count as a 5 for purposes of parrying.
This is beacause it only says its -1 to hit, not -1 on the dice result when you roll to hit.

Thats how I would do at least.

As above post. -1 to hit means -1 on the dice roll of the enemy.

But -1 on the dice roll of an ennemy means a 4 instead a 5 for instance, so a parry on 5 instead of 6
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Myntokk
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 679
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-09-03
Age : 30
Location : California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: [Ostlanders] Skill question   Mon 23 Nov 2009 - 14:57

This is kind of a tough call. I'm generally of the opinion that modifiers should not be treated as changing the die roll itself, but rather being a bonus/penalty added to that roll.

However, CygnusMaximums brings up an excellent point. The rules are ambiguous as to whether parrying is made against the number showing on the face of the die, or the modified score, since both cases are stated. Frankly, since the parry rules were written before any "-1 to hit" modifiers existed (that I'm aware of), I'd say it's up to your group to choose how to do it.

It's really not that big of a deal anyways. It only affects parry attempts made by one model, by 1.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Opheliate
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 855
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-11-12
Age : 31
Location : Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: [Ostlanders] Skill question   Mon 23 Nov 2009 - 23:50

Myntokk wrote:

It's really not that big of a deal anyways. It only affects parry attempts made by one model, by 1.

He he, true Smile
oh, I mean "+1"!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/denofdamnation/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: [Ostlanders] Skill question   Today at 8:37

Back to top Go down
 
[Ostlanders] Skill question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Jinzo/Skill Drain Question
» Ruling question about Skill drain VS Jinzo
» Skill Drain
» Rens' Ostlanders
» Question About Gladiator beasts.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: