HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 if you've got answers i've got questions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
AFKzombie
Captain
Captain


Posts : 79
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-10-18
Age : 27
Location : San Antonio, Texas

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: if you've got answers i've got questions   Sun 18 Oct 2009 - 22:24

ahoy thar!
i've been playing mordheim alot lately and it's raised some questions that i've been thinking about and was hoping you (yes you...right there...sitting infront of the moniter) could help. a vamp is immune to psych so does that mean he cannot be subject to frenzy or stupidity by injuries or equipment? i was looking at some of the FAQ posted on mordheimer.com and it was saying you can only use armor that is in your equipment list and gromril and ithilmar armor count as heavy armor now shadow warriors can wear ithilmar on their heroes upon creation of the warband but not heavy armor, does this mean that they can't wear heavy armor or just that they can't get it upon creation? if you charge two models can one intercept the charge for the other and if the charging model causes fear does he need to pass two fear checks? if you tail-fighting and a spear can you still use a sword on your tail? does dodge work on having blessed water thrown at you? can you dodge or step aside while knocked down? do elven cloaks give throwing blessed water a -1?(i play undead and everyone hates my vamp and are thusly stocked up on garlic and blessed water can you tell) if a necromancer has spell of awkening and makes a zombie hero can he use call of vanhel or re-animation on it and if you cna use re-animation and it has multiple wounds on it does it come to life with one or all of its wounds? can you cast spells into close combat weather or not the caster is in combat or not like fire of gork, spell of doom, living shadow? if a that lads got talent is rolled and you have all 6 heroes can one be dismissed to make room for the new-comer? is there a limit on how many wardogs a hero can have?
well that's it for now thx in advance
AFK TEHZOMBIE!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Gobbo Freak
Elder
Elder


Posts : 344
Trading Reputation : 7
Join date : 2009-09-08
Age : 33
Location : Tilburg, NL

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Sun 18 Oct 2009 - 23:38

AFKzombie wrote:
a vamp is immune to psych so does that mean he cannot be subject to frenzy or stupidity by injuries or equipment?

Yep

AFKzombie wrote:
i was looking at some of the FAQ posted on mordheimer.com and it was saying you can only use armor that is in your equipment list and gromril and ithilmar armor count as heavy armor now shadow warriors can wear ithilmar on their heroes upon creation of the warband but not heavy armor, does this mean that they can't wear heavy armor or just that they can't get it upon creation?

They can wear HA, though not on creation.

AFKzombie wrote:
if you charge two models can one intercept the charge for the other and if the charging model causes fear does he need to pass two fear checks?

Just one fear check is made (you're scared or you're not scared). Models that are being charged cannot intercept, so no. NOTE: the charger doesn't roll for fear if he is the one Causing Fear Thus, both defenders would have to roll.

AFKzombie wrote:
if you tail-fighting and a spear can you still use a sword on your tail?

The tail fighting rule says you can use a sword, dagger or buckler. I would say yes as the Spear is only used in your paws.

AFKzombie wrote:
does dodge work on having blessed water thrown at you? can you dodge or step aside while knocked down?

Yes, it's a thrown "weapon" so dodge would work.
Yes, while KD, you can still dodge/step aside.

AFKzombie wrote:
do elven cloaks give throwing blessed water a -1?(i play undead and everyone hates my vamp and are thusly stocked up on garlic and blessed water can you tell)

Yes, Elven cloaks give -1 to hit on missile weapons, the Bs is used for throeing Blessed water.

AFKzombie wrote:
if a necromancer has spell of awkening and makes a zombie hero can he use call of vanhel or re-animation on it and if you cna use re-animation and it has multiple wounds on it does it come to life with one or all of its wounds?

You can use the spells on the zombie hero, as he is a zombie. Don't know about the wounds.

AFKzombie wrote:
can you cast spells into close combat weather or not the caster is in combat or not like fire of gork, spell of doom, living shadow?

Depends on the spell. To summon a weapon like Clubba or Sword of Rezhebel would be possible to cast while in CC for example.

AFKzombie wrote:
if a that lads got talent is rolled and you have all 6 heroes can one be dismissed to make room for the new-comer?

Yes

AFKzombie wrote:
is there a limit on how many wardogs a hero can have?

Don't know

AFKzombie wrote:
well that's it for now thx in advance

No Problem, I did what I could
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Myntokk
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 679
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-09-03
Age : 30
Location : California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Mon 19 Oct 2009 - 0:37

Gobbo Freak wrote:
AFKzombie wrote:
if a that lads got talent is rolled and you have all 6 heroes can one be dismissed to make room for the new-comer?
Yes
I'm almost certain that you can't dismiss a Hero to make room for a promoted Henchman.

Under the entry for "The lad's got talent" (p. 82 of the Living Rule Book) it says:

Quote :
One model in the group becomes a Hero. If you already have the maximum number of Heroes, roll again.


EDIT: We houserule that a vampire is affected by Head Injuries, because it implies a permanent change to the brain and, though undead, vampires do obviously have working brains. However, I think by the letter of the law (or rules, I guess), they ignore frenzy/stupidity from any sources.


Last edited by Myntokk on Mon 19 Oct 2009 - 0:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
hero
Elder
Elder


Posts : 310
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-05

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Mon 19 Oct 2009 - 0:38

I don't think there's a strict limit on the number of wardogs a hero has but they do count against your warband member max so I suppose you could fill out completely on wardogs after heroes. The nice thing about that is you could actually sell them for half the purchase price (they're miscellaneous items right?) when you had the money to hire and equip experience earning troops! I'm not sure how your group would take this but it's funny to think about.

I guess the other ruling might be that a hero can only have one of any miscellaneous item at a time (I don't know if that's actually a rule but maybe it should be!) and thusly one dog.

As for tail fighting it seems to circumvent pretty much any restrictions (spears, flails, halberds, fight claws) to give you an extra attack.

Pretty sure they can't be stupid or frenzied in general, unless it's some kind of crazy blood frenzy which I can understand for a vampire.

Ah I'm pretty sleepy I probably shouldn't be thinking about rules right now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Mon 19 Oct 2009 - 0:55

You can have multiple miscellaneous items (that's why many of them are explicitly ruled to have only a one time effect and do not stack, see Lucky Charms, holy relic - note that you can buy a ton of rabbit's feet, though). So you can give one Hero six warhounds, but consider that if he dies, then all of his equipment is lost, and so are the dogs. So you are probably well advised to distribute the dogs among the Heroes.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Gobbo Freak
Elder
Elder


Posts : 344
Trading Reputation : 7
Join date : 2009-09-08
Age : 33
Location : Tilburg, NL

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Mon 19 Oct 2009 - 9:48

Myntokk wrote:
Gobbo Freak wrote:
AFKzombie wrote:
if a that lads got talent is rolled and you have all 6 heroes can one be dismissed to make room for the new-comer?
Yes
I'm almost certain that you can't dismiss a Hero to make room for a promoted Henchman.

Under the entry for "The lad's got talent" (p. 82 of the Living Rule Book) it says:

Quote :
One model in the group becomes a Hero. If you already have the maximum number of Heroes, roll again.


EDIT: We houserule that a vampire is affected by Head Injuries, because it implies a permanent change to the brain and, though undead, vampires do obviously have working brains. However, I think by the letter of the law (or rules, I guess), they ignore frenzy/stupidity from any sources.


In the disbanding warband section it reads (Rulebook pg 117):

Quote :
You can also dismiss any warrior in your warband at any time
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Myntokk
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 679
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-09-03
Age : 30
Location : California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Mon 19 Oct 2009 - 10:21

Hrm, I feel like this discussion took place on the old SG forums too...

I don't remember if the powers that be came to a consensus over there, but the way it looks to me is that those two rules don't contradict each other. If I roll LGT while I've got 6 heroes, then I can dismiss one of them, if I want to, but I still have to re-roll the advancement because at the time of rolling LGT I had the maximum number of heroes. Yes, you can dismiss a warrior at any time, but you can't have a henchman filling a hero's slot before that hero is dismissed.

I would say if you have one lame-duck hero, and you're hoping to replace him with a promoted henchman, then he has to be dismissed before rolling henchmen's advancements.

What would be the point of including the "re-roll" clause in LGT otherwise?

Was there a final or "official" ruling before? I can't remember...


Last edited by Myntokk on Mon 19 Oct 2009 - 14:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
catferret
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 508
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-10

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Mon 19 Oct 2009 - 10:31

My interpretation would agree with Myntokk on this.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AFKzombie
Captain
Captain


Posts : 79
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-10-18
Age : 27
Location : San Antonio, Texas

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Undead Undead
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Mon 19 Oct 2009 - 13:29

well thanks for all the feed back, i really do appreciate it. i also have more questions; if a model is stunned and he is shot at can he use his armor/dodge save? also i don't think i was clear on my spell casting question, if their is a model in close combat with a friendly model can you cast a spell on the enemy model or does it depend on the spell? when ever a random happening ogre or pit fighter is rolled if the side with the lower warband rating is not eligible to recieve help from thatwarband what happens? also for the witch hunter "burn the witch" special rule do they count other warrior-priests or augurs as witches?(i imagine that they do, but since kinda weird to me, but i guess witch hunters aren't what one would call normal)
thx again guys,
AFK TEHZOMBIE
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Schoel
Knight
Knight


Posts : 87
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-09-28
Location : Uppsala, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Mon 19 Oct 2009 - 14:52

Rulewise I would agree with Myntokk. However, the LGT is way too rare to not be nice to ppl. We play that you can dismiss them "on-the-fly".

Quote :
also i don't think i was clear on my spell casting question, if their is a model in close combat with a friendly model can you cast a spell on the enemy model or does it depend on the spell?

Unless stated otherwise, spells can be directed at models with which you are in close combat.

Quote :
when ever a random happening ogre or pit fighter is rolled if the side with the lower warband rating is not eligible to recieve help from thatwarband what happens?

As far as I know, this is not stated anywhere, we play that it doesn't matter, he joins them anyhow.

Quote :
also for the witch hunter "burn the witch" special rule do they count other warrior-priests or augurs as witches?

As it is written, I would say neither. It says they hate all models who can cast spells and neither warrior-priests nor matriarchs can cast spells, they both cast prayers. Fluffwise though, I can agree to them hating both.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JAFisher44
General
General


Posts : 183
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-15
Age : 39
Location : Elma, WA, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Tue 20 Oct 2009 - 3:28

Quote :
As it is written, I would say neither. It
says they hate all models who can cast spells and neither
warrior-priests nor matriarchs can cast spells, they both cast prayers.
Fluffwise though, I can agree to them hating both.

Prayers are spells. They are listed under the spells section. They are clearly listed as a type of spell on pg 40.

Quote :
The chart below summarises the different kinds of magic and explains who can use what spells.

Wizard - Type of Magic
Chaos Magisters - Chaos Rituals
Warlocks - Lesser Magic
Skaven Eshin Sorcerer - Magic of the Horned Rat
Sisters of Sigmar & Warrior-Priests - Prayers of Sigmar
Necromancers - Necromancy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
meerkat
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 121
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-03-23
Location : UK

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Tue 20 Oct 2009 - 6:31

JAFisher44 wrote:

Prayers are spells. They are listed under the spells section. They are clearly listed as a type of spell on pg 40.

And yet on the page with the Sigmarite prayers in the Mordheim rulebook, it says:

"Prayers of Sigmar are not regarded as spells"

So, they aren't. Except when they are.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Tue 20 Oct 2009 - 9:48

I will update this on the SG web also, Spells and Magic and in essence the same and the other rule MODs (Brahm, Tkich, Kawarda and myself) agreed on such.

This was our rules review that was lost on the old SG forum when it went down.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Schoel
Knight
Knight


Posts : 87
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-09-28
Location : Uppsala, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Wed 21 Oct 2009 - 15:44

Nice to see you still active Da Bank

Are Kawarda and Tkich still around? And what about VCountblood? In our group we have always separated between spells and prayers. Prayers can be cast whilst using armour for example.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CygnusMaximus
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 230
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-07-15
Location : Utah, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Averlanders Averlanders
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Fri 23 Oct 2009 - 14:24

Myntokk wrote:
What would be the point of including the "re-roll" clause in LGT otherwise?

I would say that the purpose of the reroll is so the group still gets their advancement even if you don't want to dismiss a hero to make room for the new guy.

That's how I've always played it...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Fri 23 Oct 2009 - 14:39

Schoel...Is that you old friend???


Tkitch has been busy and not around for almost 1.5 years, I seen about 5 posting from him. Though I did email him this last week.

Kwarada is MIA. I sent him an email last week also but I have not heard from him for at least six months or more.

Vcountblood has been MIA since the old SG forum back in 2005.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Schoel
Knight
Knight


Posts : 87
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-09-28
Location : Uppsala, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Fri 23 Oct 2009 - 18:05

Yes, that would be me. Just started playing the game actively again. Got a new group. Just took me 4 years or so. I moved 4 years ago and basically stopped playing Sad
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Gobbo Freak
Elder
Elder


Posts : 344
Trading Reputation : 7
Join date : 2009-09-08
Age : 33
Location : Tilburg, NL

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Sat 24 Oct 2009 - 3:36

Glad to have you back Schoel
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: if you've got answers i've got questions   Today at 7:28

Back to top Go down
 
if you've got answers i've got questions
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Answers in "Bonsai Questions"
» So many answers in a nutshell!
» Answers (TJA Projects)
» Questions and Answers
» SAT Test Answers

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: