HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Special Armour allowed for henchmen ... other questions.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Special Armour allowed for henchmen ... other questions.   Sun 27 Sep 2009 - 4:14

Hello folks,

Following question(s)

I have a Minotaur in my Gang and leading a wealthy Beastmen Gang meaning that I meanwhile got my 4th Gromril Armour.

1)
May the Minotaur wear a Gromril Armour ... Rules say he has accest to full beastmen equipment least including heavy armour.

2)
My shaman has the spell "Dark Blood" where he cutīs his palms and has to see afterwards how bad he hurts himself. He is also wearing Lucky charms.
In our last game he got stunned due to this spell and afterwards he got attacked by an opposite wizzard with itīs flying spell.

So far so good....

Questions:

2.a) Does lucky charm have any impact on the spell Dark Blood hurting himself (I donīt think so)

2.b) Does Lucky charm have any impact when stunned Shaman gets charged by flying Shaman (provided the shaman has only 1 attack) ? I also donīt think so but I think itīs better to ask Wink


3)
Chaos Mutation "Extra Arm"
I got a Centigor with this mutation. Does the extra arm count towards the base attack the Centigor has ? Meaning in the case the Centigor goes frenzy ....does it also double the Attack of the "Extra Arm"


Regards
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Special Armour allowed for henchmen ... other questions.   Sun 27 Sep 2009 - 5:18

Gromril and Ithilmar Armour are special types of "Heavy Armour" and all (and only those) models with access to the latter may also use them, regardless of whether they are Heores or Henchmen. So yes, you may give the Minotaur a suit of Gromril Armour as he has access to heavy armour.

Lucky Charms let you ignore the first hit during the battle. A "hit" is a clear game term and is not a "roll on the injury" table. So the Shaman will get stunned (or Knocked Down) by Dark Blood with no chance of preventing this. The Lucky Charm doesn't become useless this way, though, of course, so you can still prevent the next real hit...

As for the Lucky Charm on a stunned knocked down warrior: The rules read as follows:

"All attacks against a warrior who is knocked down hit automatically" (page 21, LRB)

So the attacker doesn't have to roll to hit, the attacks hit automatically. These hits are the same as "normal" hits for the purpose of the Lucky Charm: succesful hits. It doesn't really matter how the success of the hit came to be. So against the attacker you have a chance to prevent one of his attacks as normal.

_________________


Last edited by cianty on Mon 28 Sep 2009 - 6:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
wyldhunt
Elder
Elder


Posts : 337
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-06-19
Location : Atlanta, GA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Special Armour allowed for henchmen ... other questions.   Sun 27 Sep 2009 - 12:25

Regarding Extra Arms and Frenzy: per the Mordheim Living Rulebook, pg 23, Frenzy section, third paragraph, first sentence: "Frenzied warriors fight with double their Attacks characteristic in hand-to-hand combat."

An Extra Arm does not increase the model's Attacks characteristic - it only grants "him +1 attack when fighting in hand-to-hand combat."

It's careful wording there, but the end result is that Frenzy does not increase the number of attacks granted by anything (off-hand weapon use, Extra Arm, etc.) other than the Attacks characteristic.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://wyldhaunt.blogspot.com/
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Special Armour allowed for henchmen ... other questions.   Sun 27 Sep 2009 - 20:46

cianty wrote:
Lucky Charms let you ignore the first hit during the battle. A "hit" is a clear game term and is not a "roll on the injury" table. So the Shaman will get stunned (or Knocked Down) by Dark Blood with no chance of preventing this. The Lucky Charm doesn't become useless this way, though, of course, so you can still prevent the next real hit...

It should be remembered also that the latest Mordheim errata changed lucky charms to only allow you to ignore the first hit during the battle if you roll a 4+ on a D6... (not that this answers any of your questions though as they have already answered by cianty and wyldhunt ).
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Special Armour allowed for henchmen ... other questions.   Mon 28 Sep 2009 - 1:19

RationalLemming wrote:
It should be remembered also that the latest Mordheim errata changed lucky charms to only allow you to ignore the first hit during the battle if you roll a 4+ on a D6... (not that this answers any of your questions though as they have already answered by cianty and wyldhunt ).

I assumed this as given, but yes, some might not be aware of this (but personally I think this is the least relevant erratum in the entire Rules Review Evil or Very Mad ).

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Special Armour allowed for henchmen ... other questions.   Mon 28 Sep 2009 - 1:28

So it really means that I could have used "Lucky Charms" to avoid going out of Action for the Shaman that were "stunned" ?

Sorry for this question but Iīm wondering a little bit because rule say that "stunned" warrior are going out of action when being attacked by other warrior.

The extra arm thing is clear as well as the armor topic.

Regards
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Special Armour allowed for henchmen ... other questions.   Mon 28 Sep 2009 - 6:33

Claus wrote:
So it really means that I could have used "Lucky Charms" to avoid going out of Action for the Shaman that were "stunned" ?

Erm... no. If you were "knocked down", then the opponent hits automatically and the Lucky Charm can prevent one of those hits. "Stunned" warriors are not hit or wounded or anything so they are automatically taken out of action (if the attacker has at least one attack to spend on this).

I said "stunned" in my previous answer where it should have read "knocked down". Sorry about that! I have corrected that.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Special Armour allowed for henchmen ... other questions.   Today at 6:30

Back to top Go down
 
Special Armour allowed for henchmen ... other questions.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» mark 3 questions
» Aldi Special Offer
» Inquisitor Malefactus Sinestra (Special Character)
» Horus Questions
» Orcs and Armours?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: