HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Black Blood and Magic

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Black Blood and Magic   Thu 24 Sep 2009 - 10:29

My Warrior Priest casts Soulfire. It manages to wound a Possessed model while that model is in close combat. Does the magic trigger the Black Blood mutation?

Here's the relevant rule: "If the model loses a wound in close combat, anyone in base contact with the model suffers a Strength 3 hit (no critical hits) from the spurting corrosive blood."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lanyssa Ryssyll
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 486
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2008-03-02
Age : 31
Location : Paris - France

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Black Blood and Magic   Thu 24 Sep 2009 - 11:07

If you strictly follow the rules, I think the warrior priest must take a S3 hit, because he's in close combat with the Possessed, and the Possessed lost a wound in close combat, so...
But perhaps you can house-rule the warrior priest is safe...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Black Blood and Magic   Thu 24 Sep 2009 - 11:20

The real question is what "in close combat" means. Does it refer to the close combat phase (I hit you with my sword--oh noes! blood and pain!) or to being engaged period (eat magic evil-doer--on noes! you're bleeding on my friends!) ?

(For the purpose of my example, the warrior priest wasn't actually in the combat.)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lanyssa Ryssyll
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 486
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2008-03-02
Age : 31
Location : Paris - France

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Black Blood and Magic   Thu 24 Sep 2009 - 12:08

DRD1812 wrote:
The real question is what "in close combat" means. Does it refer to the close combat phase (I hit you with my sword--oh noes! blood and pain!) or to being engaged period (eat magic evil-doer--on noes! you're bleeding on my friends!) ?

(For the purpose of my example, the warrior priest wasn't actually in the combat.)

The second one, that's why I answered that In close combat means "engaged in hand to hand combat", that makes sense
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Black Blood and Magic   Thu 24 Sep 2009 - 12:11

A valid interpretation!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Black Blood and Magic   Today at 5:26

Back to top Go down
 
Black Blood and Magic
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Black Magic murder mystery in Arjun
» Black Library book review (Warhammer Fantasy)
» [SCD]Black Burning Magic
» Gnoblar Horde/Gut Magic
» Black rose dragon and Beast of the pharaoh.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: