Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Mordheim Discussion

HomeSearchLatest imagesRegisterBlogYou'll never paint aloneLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Beasts, Dwarves and Swords?

Go down 
5 posters
AuthorMessage
hendybadger
Champion
Champion
hendybadger

Trading Reputation : 0

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

Beasts, Dwarves and Swords? Empty
PostSubject: Beasts, Dwarves and Swords?   Beasts, Dwarves and Swords? Icon_minitimeTue 22 Sep 2009 - 19:50

I am new to Mordheim and Im planning on starting the game at my club.
My warbands of choice are Beastmen and Dwarves.
But what are the pros and cons of these 2?
And which Hired swords are best used with them?
Thanks in advance
Back to top Go down
http://z6.invisionfree.com/Beasts_and_Bionics
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster
Von Kurst

Trading Reputation : 3

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:

PostSubject: Re: Beasts, Dwarves and Swords?   Beasts, Dwarves and Swords? Icon_minitimeTue 22 Sep 2009 - 20:53

Beasts
Pros: T4, many starting heroes have St4, fast, hard hitting and access to Chaos Rituals. The Centigor--faster, more attacks. The Minotaur--the BEST big guy.
Cons: low leadership, no shooting, poor choice of hired swords. The Centigor is a drunk.
Hired swords: "A Beastman warband may never hire any HS unless specifically stated with the HS." This rule causes problems as the Beastmen are one of the last semi-official warbands written and most official HS were written before the rule was. A list would have been more helpful. My group allows the Warlock, the Witch and the Ogre Bodyguard, plus any chaos specific un-official HS.

Dwarfs
Pros; T4, Great shooting and close combat potential, hard to kill, rich, high leadership.
Cons: Slow, limited numbers, expensive to recruit and equip.