HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Beastmen questions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Beastmen questions   Mon 31 Aug 2009 - 7:11

Hi gentlemen.



1)

Where playing my beastmen gang this weekend and it happened the first time my Centigor went frenzy.

As a result some questions arose.



a)

Does a Centigor have to test even if he is engaged in close combat ? (for being drunk ->frenzy or stupid)

I mean I made test (no effect) charged and where engaged in combat beginning of my next turn -> do I have to test given the fact the Centigor is in close combat ?



b)

Frenzy means....doubling the ground attacks and become immune to psychology and having to charge if he can.

In our case the Centigor had to charge and doubled his ground attacks.

The question is now if the "Trample" attack (due to sheer body sice...) is also doubled ? Meaning to get 2 "Trample" attacks while being frenzy ?.

(My Centigor mutated to a killing maching ... having 3 ground attacks, 1 trample attack and 3 wounds....and after going frenzy having 6 ground attacks, 2 (?) trample attacks and a 2nd weapon )



2)

The Minotaur has been engaged in a close combat ........2 henchmen + minotaur auf my gang vers 2 henchmen of other gang....where the 2 henchmen of the other gang were killed. (OoA)

Minotaur having the rule "Bloogreed" -> If a Minotaur puts all of itsīenemies out of action in hand-to-hand combat, it becomes frenzied on a D6 roll of 4+.

Does this also count in case of this scenario or does the Minotaur have to fight allone and has to put his enemies allone OoA ?? What happens if my henchmen kill the other henchmen before the Minotaur attacks ? Still to test for "Bloddgreed" ?





3)

Beastmen Shaman and Magic spell "Wings of Darkness"



We played scenario 7 "Hidden Treasure" and my Shaman was the one finding the treasure chest. Giving the fact he has the spell "Wings of Darnkness" (able to move 12" anyhwere he wants) .....is he able to move with the treasure chest the 12" as described in spell.......how would you have handeled it ?



Best regards

Claus (newbie in this forum)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DeafNala
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 17932
Trading Reputation : 8
Join date : 2008-04-03
Age : 69
Location : Horseshoe Bay, TX, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Mon 31 Aug 2009 - 7:18

WELCOME ABOARD, Claus! Enjoy a LONG & MERRY stay on Fearless Leader Tom's Sleep Yet Cool Nonetheless Mordheim Forum. cheers

I think you'll find you will get more responses to your Beast man questions if you post the in the Rules & Games Play section. thumbsup
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Mon 31 Aug 2009 - 7:29

hehehe.....I guess you are right.
I need a new skill called "forum typing expert" Wink

Can you push it there or should I open new thread in specified section ?

Cheers
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DeafNala
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 17932
Trading Reputation : 8
Join date : 2008-04-03
Age : 69
Location : Horseshoe Bay, TX, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Mon 31 Aug 2009 - 7:44

As if by MAGIC it has been moved; I just wanted your permission to do so. LET THE RESPONSES BEGIN. thumbsup
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Arathorn
Captain
Captain


Posts : 61
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-07-15
Age : 27
Location : The Netherlands, Rotterdam

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Mon 31 Aug 2009 - 7:57

In case of the Minotaur:

"Bloodgreed: If a Minotaur puts all of its enemies out of action in hand-to-hand combat, it becomes frenzied on a D6 roll of 4+."

'Its' enemies, so he has to put them all OoA with his own attacks Smile 1 OoA by your other henchmen and 1 by the Minotaur does not count.

I hope the other can help you with your other questions Smile

[Edit]

i can help you on the question of the Centigor as well Razz

"Trample: As well as their weapons, Centigors use their hooves and sheer size to crush their enemies. This counts as an additional attack, which does not benefit from weapon bonuses or penalties..."

Trample is an additional attack, so it is not doubled by frenzy.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Mon 31 Aug 2009 - 8:10

@Arathorn
But.....the "Trample" attack is stated in the ground profile of the centigor at his attack profile as 1(2) .....

But to be honest...... I can live with not doubling the "Trample" attack when getting frenzied Centigor (8 attacks in total are sweet enough for me Rolling Eyes )

Cheers
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Figgy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 365
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-05-04
Age : 28

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Mon 31 Aug 2009 - 8:55

I can second what Arathorn says about the frenzied centigor. As I run beastmen from time to time as well.

I would say as long as the minotaur gets the last hit and takes the last man out in close combat, I think it's fine about the frenzy.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Mon 31 Aug 2009 - 9:28

Thx for this first feedbacks and replies.

What about the test for drunken Centigor ? Each turn or only when not being in close combat ? (Fluffwise I would say....Centigor canīt drink when fighting but who knows Wink )

Cheers
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Fri 4 Sep 2009 - 5:06

As for point 3. There is no indication telling that you can only move half movement by walking.
Here the original text from the scenario about carrying the chest:
Carrying the treasure chest will slow the warrior carrying it to half speed. Two or more models may carry the chest without any penalty.

And here the original text for "Wings of Darkness" spell:
Wings of Darkness Difficulty 7

The Chaos Mage is lifted from the ground by two shadowy Daemons and carried wherever he wants to go.

The Chaos Mage may immediately move anywhere within 12", including into base contact with an enemy, in which case he counts as charging. If he engages a fleeing enemy, in the close combat phase he will score one automatic hit and then his opponent will flee again (if he survives).

So based on the text description of the spell .... I would allow the Chaos mage to carry the chest 12" if he succesfully casts the spell as he (carrying the chest) gets transported (flying, warping...whatever) by Daemons.
What do you think about my interpretation ? Of course this will be very big advantage for Chaos mage...especially for my Beastmen Shaman (as he got sprint already) but itīs also a risk to send him (most of the time) into the last building not inspected.

The Minotaur and Blood Greed topic is clear for me know as well as the Trample attack.

But what about testing for being Drunk at Centigor. Does Centigor only have to test when not being engaged in combat. Does he only have to test at the beginning of the game (so only once a game) Or does he have to test each turn (no matter of being engaged in combat ?

Best regards
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
catferret
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 508
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-10

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Fri 4 Sep 2009 - 5:17

The rules for the Centigor state he must test every turn. There are no exceptions listed therefore the Centigor will test for his drunkenness every turn regardless of whether he is in combat or not.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Fri 4 Sep 2009 - 5:49

Yes. I could have found that myself when carefuly reading the rules. Rolling Eyes

Somehow I were mislad by the sentence ......are drinking before battle.

Nevertheless thx for leading me the right direction Wink
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JAFisher44
General
General


Posts : 183
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-15
Age : 39
Location : Elma, WA, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Fri 4 Sep 2009 - 17:45

That is fluff, but if you want a fluff explanation, the Centigor is drunk from drinking before battle. You must test each turn to see if his drunkenness overcomes his self control at that moment.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Beastmen questions   Today at 17:20

Back to top Go down
 
Beastmen questions
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Beastmen raiders rules questions
» folketsfiendes Beastmen of Ind - New pics 110707
» For the Herd! - Mithras' first ever plog (about Beastmen)
» mark 3 questions
» Need two old style beastmen ungors

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: