HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Climbing + chargiing

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Mithras
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 110
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-17
Age : 43
Location : Rotjeknor, The Netherlands

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Climbing + chargiing   Sat 29 Aug 2009 - 4:41

I was wondering how you guys handle this situation as I haven't been able to find anything in the official rulebook for it.

We play it that if you stand on ground level, have a move of 4'' and want to charge a guy on a rooftop of let's say 2'' high, that you can use the remaining 2'' that u didn't use for climbing to charge the guy on the rooftop. So you use 2'' for climbing and the remaining 2'' gives you a 2x2''=4'' charge range on the rooftop.

Is this correct? How do you guys play it?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FKSN
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 257
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-07-21
Age : 35
Location : Gefle, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sat 29 Aug 2009 - 5:45

You move charges before handling remaining moves, and climbing checks fall squarely under 'remaining moves' so no, you can't climb and charge. Sorry.

Solution: Build more stairs & ladders.

Edit: PROVEN WRONG! You still want to build more stairs & ladders though Razz


Last edited by FKSN on Sat 29 Aug 2009 - 6:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Eliazar
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1973
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2007-08-27
Age : 28
Location : Frankfurt, Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sat 29 Aug 2009 - 5:58

Do you have any quotes to prove that?

I would think that you can climb, as you can also jump down, over gaps, etc. as long as you can reach your enemy.

EDIT: Just found the Q&A:

Q: Can you really climb up a wall and then charge someone? We made a house rule that said you canít, but is there something official?
A: You can, as otherwise buildings would be too good positions.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FKSN
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 257
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-07-21
Age : 35
Location : Gefle, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sat 29 Aug 2009 - 6:18

I stand corrected, good sir. Another one of those 'Of course it's like that, we've always played like that' things that I'm sure my head is 85% filled with Laughing
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mithras
Veteran
Veteran


Posts : 110
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-17
Age : 43
Location : Rotjeknor, The Netherlands

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sat 29 Aug 2009 - 9:50

Thanks for your reply's, it seems that we are playing it the right way then thumbsup
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JAFisher44
General
General


Posts : 183
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-15
Age : 39
Location : Elma, WA, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sat 29 Aug 2009 - 14:48

I have never liked the climb and charge thing. I just cant imagine a guy standing around and watching his opponent struggle up the side of a building, stand up, dust himself off, and then continue to charge.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FKSN
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 257
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-07-21
Age : 35
Location : Gefle, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sat 29 Aug 2009 - 15:30

I've got no problem with the image, actually. In most cases it'll be in a situation where both participants would have to roll initiative to even see for a charge to begin with.. so I see more of a sneaky-sneaky shimmy up that ledge, then bury a dagger between his ribs just as he's turning.. so I guess either that, or something out of a Jackie Chan movie Laughing
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ash
General
General


Posts : 197
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-16
Age : 38
Location : USA,California,Concord

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sat 29 Aug 2009 - 17:36

Hasn't anyone seen Crouching Tiger? That makes the imagery easy Smile Cathayan Monk 1
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Figgy
Elder
Elder


Posts : 365
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-05-04
Age : 28

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Mon 31 Aug 2009 - 8:02

I have always played with no charge after climbing. I have to say I cannot see someone, let's say a goblin henchman or a blackorc in full heavy armor, charging up a wall without getting smacked down.

I don't think that buildings are too good a defensive position either, because unless your spending money on venom or such, I don't think that ranged weapons are that awesome on a properly set up mordheim table (with oodles and oodles of hiding postions). Besides, you can shoot back anyways!

The only exception to this rule is if you can scale sheer surfaces or otherwise have the ability to move up walls without penalty. (or if it's high enough to jump up maybe?)

(EDIT) Shooting warbands NEED a defensive position either way, if you think about it. Razz
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Gobbo Freak
Elder
Elder


Posts : 344
Trading Reputation : 7
Join date : 2009-09-08
Age : 33
Location : Tilburg, NL

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sat 12 Sep 2009 - 1:02

IIRC it says in the rules that you must be next to the wall at the beginning of your turn to be able to climb up right?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sun 13 Sep 2009 - 4:00

@Gobo Freak

Correct. You mus stand next to the wall but.....there is specific skils "Scale sheer surfaces" which does not require to do initiative test for climbing and where you are able to run when climbing.

At least we in our gaming group allow with this skill to chare up walls without standing next to the wall.....as otherwise this skill would not make much sense (in our opinione)

Cheers
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Gobbo Freak
Elder
Elder


Posts : 344
Trading Reputation : 7
Join date : 2009-09-08
Age : 33
Location : Tilburg, NL

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sun 13 Sep 2009 - 5:01

Obviously that makes sence
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sven The Mighty
Warrior
Warrior


Posts : 24
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-10-15
Location : Malmoe, SWE

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Norse (Unofficial) Norse (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sat 17 Oct 2009 - 5:35

One of a bunch of interesting not-so-clear-in-the-first-set-o'-rules thing.

So...

1. Climb and charge is OK, 4" of Charge Range (assuming normal Human move)?

2. 'Scale Sheer Surface' skill climb and charge; 8" of Charge Range (assuming normal Human move)?

...and you must make a Initiative test to do it.



EDIT: Initiative Test required for folks without SSS skill AND/OR if ya can't see the charged model above you clearly!


Last edited by Sven The Mighty on Sun 18 Oct 2009 - 6:51; edited 2 times in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Claus
Champion
Champion


Posts : 47
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-08-31
Location : Austria (nearby Vienna)

PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Sun 18 Oct 2009 - 4:50

With skill "Scale sheer surface" no initiative test required anymore for climbing !!

Given that....charge range of 8" for normal humans.

Regards
Claus
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Climbing + chargiing   Today at 23:13

Back to top Go down
 
Climbing + chargiing
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Some days, you just feel like climbing the walls.....
» Amazing work about the Milius' movie
» Fell off the wagon but climbing back on
» Rose Bonsai
» Japan 2011 - Mansei-en and the oldest bonsai in the world

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: