HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Lucky Charms and the parry

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Lucky Charms and the parry   Sat 22 Aug 2009 - 19:09

This situation comes up frequently in our group. The attacking warrior rolls a 6 and two 4s to hit. The defending hero has a lucky charm. He makes the 4+ roll and removes the 6. May the defender now parry?

If yes lets go further. One of the 4s is a red dice and one is white. The white die represents the dread dagger. The red die represents a sword. If our hero parries with a 5+ must he: declare which attack he is parrying? Remove the dice of his choice? Randomize?

We do a combination of all choices depending on who is being asked and who's asking.

For example we generally rule that the highest die is removed by the lucky charm instead of randomizing among the possible hits. And some of us argue that since you may not parry a 6, if a 6 is rolled you may not parry any attacks even if the 6 is removed by a Lucky Charm roll. But others say the 6 is removed before a parry so...

Any wisdom from the communtiy?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Lucky Charms and the parry   Sun 23 Aug 2009 - 1:58

You would have to roll the dice one after the other so that you can tell which one is the first. Of course it is up to the attacking player to choose the order in which he makes his attack rolls. If the attacker rolls all his attack dice at once, then it is his own fault and the defender may decide which is the "first" attack that is removed.

So the attacker has to be aware of the potential existence of lucky charms and if he forgets, it is better for the defender.

That's how we play it. Smile

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Popmouth
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 479
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-12-10
Age : 29
Location : Gothemburg, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Lucky Charms and the parry   Sun 23 Aug 2009 - 2:32

I believe you have to nominate all your attacks att the same time, and therefore there is now certain order in which the attacks are actually made. For example, if you have 2A and fight in a combat with 2 enemies, where one is knocked down, you can't first role 1 dice to see if you managed to get the standing warrior, and save the last dice in case you didn't succeed in injuring him.

So somehow I say that you should be allowed to parry the other attacks, since the attack (6) that was put away buy the lucky charm is not a threat anymore. Though I agree it is a picky situation.
popmouth
Back to top Go down
View user profile
catferret
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 508
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-10

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Lucky Charms and the parry   Sun 23 Aug 2009 - 6:39

Parry rules (p36/37) state that you must beat the highest score of your opponent.

Lucky Charms say you may ignore the first hit. Hits are not calculated until all factors (such as parrying) have been resolved.

Therefore, you may not Lucky Charm then elect to parry the remaining scores.

That's the way I read it anyway.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Lucky Charms and the parry   Sun 23 Aug 2009 - 7:21

I would play like Catferret.

In Death Squads we moved our "lucky charm" to ignore the first wound as parry and a few other skills could cause some issues.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Lucky Charms and the parry   Sun 23 Aug 2009 - 7:37

Well I am learning a few things. Thank you for the replies thus far. Mainly I am reminded to look in the rule book.
In the main our problem is caused by throwing all the dice at once. At the same time in a system where a warrior can have up to 9-10 attacks throwing the dice one at a time is frustrating as well. But for most combats 2 or 3 dice are all we are talking about...

Lucky charms affect the first hit, so dice should be rolled accordingly. This will take a huge change in culture in our group. (We tend to throw lots of dice with explanations of what each one may mean to follow.)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Lucky Charms and the parry   Today at 0:44

Back to top Go down
 
Lucky Charms and the parry
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» This is what lucky looks like
» ***Charms Creations - Page Runners***
» New for March - Polymer buttons, pins and charms!!!
» Tournament 5th August 2012 (Updated with Special Lucky Draw)
» Tournament 12th August 2012 (Special Lucky Draw)

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: