HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog in
Share | 
 

 Multiple attacks at different times

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Svenn
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts: 927
Trading Reputation: 1
Join date: 2009-04-15
Age: 31
Location: Maryland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Multiple attacks at different times   Wed 22 Jul 2009 - 16:04

This isn't the question you think... I know that if you have multiple attacks with some having strike first and stuff then you strike in that order. The question is what happens if your first attack stuns (or knocks down) the guy?

Example: Mutant wielding a spear with great claw and a scorpion tail gets 3 attacks. They are charged and take their spear attack first. If they miss, then the attacker goes, then the claw/tail attack. What happens if the spear hits though? The spear stuns the model. Do my claw/tail attacks then take them out of action, or can I not take them out of action on this turn because I just stunned them with the same model?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
rain9441
Champion
Champion


Posts: 41
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2009-06-05

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Multiple attacks at different times   Wed 22 Jul 2009 - 16:42

From the rulebook:

Note that a model with multiple attacks may not
stun/knock down and then automatically take a
warrior out of action during the same hand-to-hand
combat phase. The only way you can achieve this is to
have more than one of your models attacking the
same enemy.

The mutant will need to roll to hit and to wound on the tail/claw attacks as though the enemy was still standing. This is only because it is the same model during the same hand to hand combat phase.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Svenn
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts: 927
Trading Reputation: 1
Join date: 2009-04-15
Age: 31
Location: Maryland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Multiple attacks at different times   Wed 22 Jul 2009 - 16:58

Aha, that's what I was missing, you make those attacks as though the enemy is still standing. I remembered there being a rule about not being able to stun then take an enemy out of action with the same model, but I couldn't figure out what to do with the other attacks. It seemed wrong for the auto-OOA but losing those attacks also seemed wrong... looks like the answer was right in front of me the whole time. Thanks. Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
rain9441
Champion
Champion


Posts: 41
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2009-06-05

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Multiple attacks at different times   Wed 22 Jul 2009 - 17:14

But what if you had 2 mutants standing next to eachother, both with spears and tails, both being charged by a single model?

Mutant #1 hits with spear, wounds, knocked down
Mutant #2 autohits with spear, doesn't wound
Mutant #1 ?????? with tail
Mutant #2 autothits with tail?

Thats what I thought your original question was, I'm kind of confused myself on that situation. Won't arise much since AFAIK the only guys who can get spear attacks and other attacks are mutants.

OR:

Mutant #1 misses with spear
Mutant #2 hits with spear, wounds, knocked down
Mutant #1 ?????? with tail
Mutant #2 ?????? with tail
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Svenn
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts: 927
Trading Reputation: 1
Join date: 2009-04-15
Age: 31
Location: Maryland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Multiple attacks at different times   Wed 22 Jul 2009 - 17:19

Well, I'm putting together a mutant with spear, claw, and tail which is why this came up. Smile

See, it seems weird no matter how you do it. If you have two models then the second model's attacks follow the rules for whatever happens from the first attacker. It seems weird that if you then had more attacks from the original attacker that he would have to roll to hit again... but it seems weird to be able to auto-hit a model you just knocked down with the same attacker.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
hero
Elder
Elder


Posts: 310
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2009-01-05

PostSubject: Re: Multiple attacks at different times   Wed 22 Jul 2009 - 23:26

Erg, cannot dual wield with spear... but... can claw-wield with spear? Erg.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
wyldhunt
Elder
Elder


Posts: 337
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2009-06-20
Location: Atlanta, GA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Multiple attacks at different times   Thu 23 Jul 2009 - 1:04

In our local group's rules set, we ended up wording it this way:

Quote :
If the attacker's target is knocked down or stunned prior to any attacks being made by this attacker this turn (regardless which “speed category” is being resolved), the attack automatically hits.

It still doesn't quite feel right, but in the above Mutant case, both would continue to need to roll to hit their target throughout that HtH phase.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://wyldhaunt.blogspot.com/
 

Multiple attacks at different times

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum ::  :: -