HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Tewfik
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 220
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2009-04-15
Age : 33
Location : Maryland, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Sun 12 Jul 2009 - 4:35

Say I equiped a model with a brace of warplock pistols and a flail... in the 1st round of combat would he still get the +2A from the brace @ Str 5 and then fight with the flail?? or since the flail is difficult to use would negate the use of the pistols??
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
Dulu
Captain
Captain


Posts : 68
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-07-04
Age : 29
Location : Baltimore, MD

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Sisters of Sigmar Sisters of Sigmar
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Sun 12 Jul 2009 - 4:37

The way I understand it, you do NOT have to use the pistols in the first round.

The Flail bonus ONLY works in the first round of hand to hand combat.

So it would be logical to use the Flail first, and then next round pull out the pistols and shoot them.


Thats my 2gc anyway!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Tewfik
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 220
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2009-04-15
Age : 33
Location : Maryland, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Sun 12 Jul 2009 - 4:44

Well you could also say that as hes charging in/being charged he fires both pistols and throws them aside and draws his Flail for CC... but it could be argued either way...

Ive never really played a band with members that used pistols/brace so im not fully sure on how they work when it comes to CC.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
catferret
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 508
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-10

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Sun 12 Jul 2009 - 4:47

The rules say you can't switch weapon with the exception of swapping out pistols and lances for a reserve weapon (note that flails do not allow you to switch out), therefore you will be best starting with your pistols then switch to the flail.

Although the flail is tiring, you can't be tired until you have actually used it so I would say the flail bonus would apply in the first round it is used rather than solely the first round of combat.

Not an official answer regarding the flail but the pistol part is straight out of the rules/FAQs.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MyLittlePwny
Elder
Elder


Posts : 364
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-20
Age : 31
Location : Copenhagen_Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Sun 12 Jul 2009 - 4:48

When charging with pistols, you may use them in the first round of combat instead of other CC weapons, you don't get to use them in the 2nd turn if you didn't fire them, and if you use them in the first, you don't use any other weapons.. If you have both pistols and flail, you're screwed - you gotta choose one of them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MyLittlePwny
Elder
Elder


Posts : 364
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-20
Age : 31
Location : Copenhagen_Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Sun 12 Jul 2009 - 4:50

Oh i see catferret answered while i was writing my reply Smile

I have to disagree on the flailpoint though, it's difficult to use (as the rule is named) not tiring. I think the explanation is that you get a good swing while closing on your opponent and therefore getting the strength bonus. Once you're in close, there's not enough room/time to get large swings and thus only counting as normal weapon Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Tewfik
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 220
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2009-04-15
Age : 33
Location : Maryland, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Sun 12 Jul 2009 - 4:51

well it states that if a model is equiped with a brace of pistols and another close combat weapon they get +2A @ Str 5 (for warplock), if i recall the rule correctly (dont have my book at hand nor am i thinking clearly seeing as i havnt slept yet today/yesterday...)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
Tewfik
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 220
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2009-04-15
Age : 33
Location : Maryland, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Sun 12 Jul 2009 - 4:53

Im not currently using this set-up was just thinking of variations of things I could do to not always fighting with the same equipment sets...
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7006
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Sun 12 Jul 2009 - 8:00

The proposed weapon combination will inherently cause arguments because you are trying to get around the exact wording of the rules. Both weapons have special rules for the "first turn" of HtH combat. Not the first turn you can use them but the "first turn" of the combat. You get charged and knocked down on the first turn you get neither bonus.
You can make a case for the "first turn they could be used" but you would be inviting debate from a frustrated opponent and the rule book is not on your side.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
hysteria75
Hero
Hero


Posts : 29
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-07-18
Age : 41
Location : baltimore

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Sun 19 Jul 2009 - 14:55

i would have to agree by raw and rai that you couldnt mix the two like that
you still could use the brace the first round and then the flail as a regular weapon after the first round

why i dont know id just keep using the brace as dhw at that point
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question   Today at 21:35

Back to top Go down
 
Brace of Warplock + Flail... combat question
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Pistol Attacks in Close Combat
» Spells and HtH combat
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Dark Fusion / Mirror Force question
» GERMANY'S PANTHER TANK - The Quest For Combat Supremacy

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: