HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 using a spear....

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Tewfik
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 220
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2009-04-15
Age : 33
Location : Maryland, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: using a spear....   Mon 18 May 2009 - 22:45

Is a spear a 1h weapon or 2h??

If it is 1h and I have say a spear and a sword does the spear still hit first then go off Initiative values??
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
Exarch Thomo
Knight
Knight


Posts : 83
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-05-09
Age : 31
Location : Brisbane, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: using a spear....   Mon 18 May 2009 - 22:51

Straight from page 26 of the rulebook (latest downloaded version):

Spear
Special Rules:
Strike First: A warrior with a spear strikes first in the first turn of hand-to-hand combat

Unwieldy: A warrior with a spear may only use a shield or a buckler in his other hand. He may not use a second weapon.

Cavalry Bonus: If using the rules for mounted models, a mounted warrior armed with a spear receives a +1 Strength bonus when he charges. This bonus only applies for that turn.


So, to answer you question, a spear is a one-handed weapon that cannot be used with any other weapons (as per the Unwieldy rule).
Also remember that as per the Rules Review, Strike First only means that it strikes in Initiative order against a model that also has the strike first rule (i.e. a charging model). This has made spears somewhat pointless on the majority of low-average Initiative models.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chad
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 932
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-07
Age : 24
Location : Poiares-Coimbra-Portugal/Exeter-Devon-England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: using a spear....   Tue 19 May 2009 - 2:37

We house-ruled that spears strike first when being charged. I suggest you do too.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Tewfik
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 220
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2009-04-15
Age : 33
Location : Maryland, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: using a spear....   Tue 19 May 2009 - 9:28

Thats what I thought but somehow missed the unwieldy rule when I was looking last night... thank you Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: using a spear....   Today at 9:17

Back to top Go down
 
using a spear....
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Submerged fender spear...
» Dark World Deck
» Louis' skaven log
» The new Ben Chatham Story: "DRAGON'S EAR & DRUID'S SPEAR"
» Dragunity Deck List

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: