HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Standing up and charging...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Svenn
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 927
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2009-04-15
Age : 33
Location : Maryland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Standing up and charging...   Mon 11 May 2009 - 11:19

So, I know you can't charge when you stand up, but what if there's a spell that lets you charge? The rulebook says you can cast spells after standing up.

For example, the skaven sorceror spell that allows you to charge any guy within 12". Can he stand up, cast the spell since he's allowed to cast spells, and then "charge" a guy that way? Or would that just be considered a charge and not be allowed?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Standing up and charging...   Mon 11 May 2009 - 12:08

this is a contradiction wihtin the rules so both stands can be aruged

however, general rules theory states that when a specific entry contradicts a general entry, the specific will take precedence, unless specifically noted otherwise

in this case it means that the spell will allow the model to charge
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
Svenn
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 927
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2009-04-15
Age : 33
Location : Maryland

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Standing up and charging...   Mon 11 May 2009 - 12:11

We allowed it, but I'm not so sure that seems fair. It could go either way...

I did see this on Mordheimer about the spell (but with a different question):
"The spell allows the model to perform an out-of-sequence charge but does not
over-ride any of the other charge rules (except it does allow you to ignore
interceptions, as well as any other figures)."
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.tabletopgeeks.com
Popmouth
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 479
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-12-10
Age : 29
Location : Gothemburg, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Standing up and charging...   Tue 12 May 2009 - 1:00

I would allow it - is not magic supposed to to give that little extra? That's what magic is for after all...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chad
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 932
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-07
Age : 24
Location : Poiares-Coimbra-Portugal/Exeter-Devon-England

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pirates (Unofficial) Pirates (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Standing up and charging...   Tue 12 May 2009 - 3:17

I'd say he can charge.

@Popmouth: does 'popmouth' mean something else in Sweden? In England it means a punch in the face...,
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Popmouth
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 479
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-12-10
Age : 29
Location : Gothemburg, Sweden

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Standing up and charging...   Tue 12 May 2009 - 4:01

OFF TOPIC:
O, I never heard that popmouth meant that as well - brilliant. No it's nothing in swedish - but me surname is Papworth, my dad is brittish, so it is just me being silly - Papworth, Popmouth. You get it...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ram Rock Ed First
Knight
Knight


Posts : 82
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-12-15
Age : 31
Location : Sydney, Australia (preferrably in the light of the Moon)

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Shadow Warriors (Unofficial) Shadow Warriors (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Standing up and charging...   Wed 13 May 2009 - 10:01

Popmouth wrote:
I would allow it - is not magic supposed to to give that little extra? That's what magic is for after all...

Yeah, when in doubt try to rationalise it in a context that you're standing there at the time - You get up and you unleash a magical chant that infuses you with sudden energy and strength allowing you to charge your unsuspecting foes.

We of course allow this.

Ram.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.deadfrontier.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Standing up and charging...   Today at 4:35

Back to top Go down
 
Standing up and charging...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Charging over knocked down, stunned models
» Cave art, hillside art and standing stones
» UMX Beast charging questions?
» fake charging solution Nokia e52 100% tested
» n70 charging no response done...

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: