HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Were-"Thing in the Woods"-ism

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
cobaltearthgem
Hero
Hero


Posts : 29
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-03-28

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Were-"Thing in the Woods"-ism   Fri 17 Apr 2009 - 17:25

Okay, so in branching out from the scenarios in the big black book we've been experimenting with the Annual and EiF scenarios. "The Thing in the Woods" has actually been one of the better ones we have tried. But this Lycanthrope special rule has us asking a million questions.

1) The description states it affects "man sized non-mutants"; so does it affect any of the following; Warhounds, Beastmen, undead (Vampires and Zombies) or Possessed?

2) The rules states "whenever the cursed model is wounded..." most models this will affect are single wound models, but the Balewolf is 3 wound so do you confirm a wound (rolling 4 on S4 vs T4) and the model immediately transforms (if it fails its leadership test) and so the Balewolf has only 2 wounds remaing (1 if it was a critical wound). Alternately do you roll the injury roll for the "original" 1 wound model and then only if the model is not taken out of action do you test to see if the Balewolf emerges? If the second does the Balewolf suffer the same injury as the original (IE Stunned is rolled for the original, is the Bale wolf stunned even though it still has 2 wounds remaining)?

3) Can the "new" Balewolf infect others the same as the original "Thing in the Woods"?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Identity
Elder
Elder


Posts : 368
Trading Reputation : -2
Join date : 2009-01-14
Location : California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Were-"Thing in the Woods"-ism   Fri 17 Apr 2009 - 18:03

cobaltearthgem wrote:
1) The description states it affects "man sized non-mutants"; so does it affect any of the following; Warhounds, Beastmen, undead (Vampires and Zombies) or Possessed?
You'd have to use your better judgement here. I would say warhounds aren't affected; they are already beasts. Possessed are a type of mutant, so they wouldn't be affected. Undead are only capable of moving through magic, not their own biologic systems, so I don't see how they'd be able to mutate. That leaves beastmen. That's a tough call. They're somewhat "mutant" and somewhat already beasts, but they are also humanoid. I'll leave that call up to you or others on this forum more familiar with beastman fluff Wink

cobaltearthgem wrote:
2) The rules states "whenever the cursed model is wounded..." most models this will affect are single wound models, but the Balewolf is 3 wound so do you confirm a wound (rolling 4 on S4 vs T4) and the model immediately transforms (if it fails its leadership test) and so the Balewolf has only 2 wounds remaing (1 if it was a critical wound). Alternately do you roll the injury roll for the "original" 1 wound model and then only if the model is not taken out of action do you test to see if the Balewolf emerges? If the second does the Balewolf suffer the same injury as the original (IE Stunned is rolled for the original, is the Bale wolf stunned even though it still has 2 wounds remaining)?

"Wounded" refers to a successful wound inflicted. If a to-wound roll is successful and all saves (armor, regeneration, daemon, etc.) are failed, then a wound has been inflicted. Each time this happens the model would have a chance to transform. The wording seems to imply that you take the leadership test before a roll is made on the injury table (for models which have suffered their last wound). My take on this is that it transforms before the wound is inflicted, thus the model doesn't roll for injury, but starts as a balewolf with 2 (or possibly fewer) wounds. This is up to interpretation though, as the rules are ambiguous.

cobaltearthgem wrote:
3) Can the "new" Balewolf infect others the same as the original "Thing in the Woods"?
Yes. Once transformed, the model becomes the Balewolf, inheriting all its abilities, including "Lycanthrope."
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 
Were-"Thing in the Woods"-ism
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Were-"Thing in the Woods"-ism
» The Thing in the Woods?
» "LITTLE HOUSE IN THE BIG WOODS"
» ALICE CROOKER: " LIVING BY THE SWAMP," FANTASTIC !!
» NY Post - Gerry co-hosting party for "The King's Speech" tonight

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: