HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Necromancy spell: Lifestealer

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
TiAn
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 9
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-13

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Tue 14 Apr 2009 - 11:32

Rolled this spell on a first try undead army, wondered about it how it work.
The no save allowed count the injutry roll? I only do the casting (10+) and i hit wound and eventually put out of action the target? If it is awesome spell, difficult to cast, but really awesome!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Oldcastle
Champion
Champion


Posts : 43
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-09-15
Age : 53
Location : Wichita, KS

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Tue 14 Apr 2009 - 11:51

It says the target suffers a wound with no save. That means (in my reading) no armor save. But you still have to role the injury roll...

So, a multiple wound model would loose a wound, and you gain one; no injury roll as the model still has wounds.

A Single wound model is wounded, and you gain a wound. You then roll on the Injury table, and see the result. He might only be knocked down, or stunned. Either way, you gain a wound.

Honestly, in this reading, I'd think you'd want the enemy stunned... then you could cast the spell next round against the same target and gain another wound...

I am open to corrections on this, as I have the rule book handy, but not the FAQ/Errata...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
TiAn
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 9
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-02-13

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Tue 14 Apr 2009 - 12:01

That's what I tought, but if the spell is a "drainage" how could the 1 wounds target can survive while the caster gain 1 wound? I find it inappropriate and, a th the same time, overpowered cause it can be a instakill spell with just a 10+ (ok it is difficult, it has short range and if you fail you can be charged by every warband, dwarves included) but still exagerated, as a casual undead player i'm interested about it...
(and with the orks with the 2 spell 9+ difficult i tought i was unlucky, i rolled the 10+ with the vampire )
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Tue 14 Apr 2009 - 14:44

oldcaste is correct

suck -> +1 W -> stun -> suck -> +1 W -> +1xp -> one happy necromancer
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
Duredhel
Hero
Hero


Posts : 28
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-03-12

PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Wed 15 Apr 2009 - 1:27

This may be an oversight in the description, but usually, with similar spells/abilities, the character is only allowed to exceed his maximum stat by one. Does this spell work differently (from the wording of the spell, it seems it does)?

Also, successfully casting a 10+ spell twice in a row has a 1 in 36 probability (less than 3%).

If the necromancer was engaged in h2h with another opponent, would you allow him to cast lifestealer on a stunned/knocked down opponent? From the other rules, players are always supposed to focus on the biggest threats.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Wed 15 Apr 2009 - 6:32

you can indeed gain many, many wounds
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
hero
Elder
Elder


Posts : 310
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-05

PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Wed 15 Apr 2009 - 16:12

I would rule that the necromancer gains a wound even if the model has zero wounds.

"The target suffers a wound (no save allowed) and the Necromancer gains an extra wound for the duration of the battle."

It doesn't say they need to have any wounds for you to gain a wound.

The spell is cool because it ignores toughness, but rolling a 10-12 is not reliable so it doesn't seem too strong.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Goglutin
Elder
Elder


Posts : 387
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2010-11-19
Age : 39
Location : Montréal , Canada

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Mon 20 Jan 2014 - 15:20

Old topic... I know...

I once had a Necrarch Vampire with this spell and got both mind focus and sorcery as skills. You manage to make the spell about 60-70% of the time. My vampire was utterly unbeatable and was a real terror no matter who he faced. Casting the spell do not stop him for fighting in close combat !!!

You cast and suck a wound and... you attack AFTER a KD or Stunned opponent... Tons of xp...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
RationalLemming
Etheral
Etheral


Posts : 1454
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-05
Age : 32
Location : Toowoomba, Qld, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Mon 20 Jan 2014 - 21:59

Yes, close combat would make it easy to take enemies out of action quickly. The Necrarch vampire isn't as good in CC as a normal vampire but it doesn't really matter once the model is KD or stunned.

Casting from afar though then the enemy warrior would need to role on injury every time a wound is lost.
Asp wrote:
oldcaste is correct

suck -> +1 W -> stun -> suck -> +1 W -> +1xp -> one happy necromancer
This is more accurately portrayed as:

suck -> +1 W -> roll on injury -> stun -> recover to KD -> suck -> +1 W -> roll on injury...
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://sites.google.com/site/ourhouserules/mordheim
Zero2Hero-DK
General
General


Posts : 151
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2011-05-03
Age : 33
Location : Denmark, Aalborg

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Restless Dead (BTB) Restless Dead (BTB)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Sat 15 Mar 2014 - 3:21

Quick question about mind focus... is this possible to be paired with a familiar despite to the rule "you can never reroll a reroll"?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://Zero2Hero.tabletopgeeks.com
Aipha
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 571
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2013-04-04
Age : 26
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Sat 15 Mar 2014 - 3:50

Zero2Hero-DK wrote:
Quick question about mind focus... is this possible to be paired with a familiar despite to the rule "you can never reroll a reroll"?

You can never re-roll a re-roll. Period.

Quote :
If you are given the opportunity to re-roll a dice roll, you must accept the second score, even if it’s worse than the original.

Meaning that they cannot be combined. However, having both Familiar and Mind Focus is never a bad thing, then you can decide whether you want to re-roll the total of 7 made by 6 & 1, or just re-roll the 1.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Necromancy spell: Lifestealer   Today at 1:47

Back to top Go down
 
Necromancy spell: Lifestealer
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Trap Reactor Y FI and Spell Reactor RE
» equip spell/warrior combo
» Starting spell for Orc Warband
» Hammer of Sigmar Spell
» H: Storm of Magic Spell Cards...W: What do you have?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: