HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
gewaltatron
Hero
Hero


Posts : 36
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-04-11
Location : CCAA, Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Carnival of Chaos (EIF) Carnival of Chaos (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Sat 11 Apr 2009 - 14:54

Hi there,

being confused about two different warbandlist i found in the www, i will now post my questions here:

#1.) On mordheimer.c*m I found that Orcs may NOT take clubs for 3 gc but Goblins do! But at the download area of the yahoo mordheim group I found a list which allows both to take clubs! so, i think you can guess my question, which one is right?

#2.) A friend of mine came up with this one: Imagine a Shaman with the spell Clubba is being attacked by a filthy .. lets say.. skaven (argh). The shaman has, lets say a spear. Now the skaven however survives the first round and its the Orcs turn, he casts Clubba, as he is able to cast during a hthc, now what happens? Does the Orc change his weapon into the magic Clubba or does he still have to fight with the spear, as he had to choose before(!) the first round of hthc? And if he would be able to change his weapon to the clubba, is he also allowed to pull his dagger additionally?

Maybe first my personal pov:
#1.) no idea, i dont like the slightly overpowered orclist anyway
#2.) I think the rule not to change your weapon during a hthc stands over this spell. so he is not able to change weapons. I think this would not be in the sense of this spell, aspecially not for a low comp. of 7.

So what do you think or know Smile ? I looking forward to your opinions!

regards
gewaltatron
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://40kcampaigncologne.blogspot.com/
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Sat 11 Apr 2009 - 16:39

Quote :
On mordheimer.c*m I found that Orcs may NOT take clubs for 3 gc but Goblins do!

this is widely believed to be an error.

Quote :
Does the Orc change his weapon into the magic Clubba

similar spells have been ruled to NOT change the weapons, simply the caster's statline.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Sat 11 Apr 2009 - 16:47

The club/mace in the Orcs equipment list of the Da Mob warband is a mistake/oversight. They simply forgot to include the mace. You can read about this in the official Mordheim Rules Review. The weapon has been officially added to the equipment list.

I updated the original O&G warband list with the missing mace. That is the file you found on the yahoo group.


PS: Benutz bloß nicht die deutsche Version der Orks und Goblins aus dem White Dwarf! In der Version können Goblins gar keine Erfahrung sammeln, während sie eigentlich bloß nicht zu Helden aufsteigen können. Ein fataler Übersetungsfehler, wenn man bedenkt, dass Goblins ja durch Waarghpilze ihre Attacken verdoppeln können. Ein Goblin, der sein Attackenprofil um ein gesteigert hat, kann damit also insgesamt 2x2 + 1 = 5 Attacken haben.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Sat 11 Apr 2009 - 17:29

Cianty is correct.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7013
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Sat 11 Apr 2009 - 17:42

I'm kind of ambivalent about the Orcs. I do not like the Troll being unable to be killed. I would prefer the Nemesis Crown fix (the Troll must roll for injury if it is taken OOA by fire) to become official or the other Big Guys to become less expensive. (Actually both)

I am also a bit less than enamored of the shootiness of the warband, since that shootiness comes form the Orcs. I would like it better if Orcs could only access certain shooting skills or if fewer Orcs could shoot. If the list was titled Orc Pirates the shootiness would make more sense.

All that being said I don't find Orcs to be overpowered since they are limited in heroes and access to LGT advancements.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
gewaltatron
Hero
Hero


Posts : 36
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-04-11
Location : CCAA, Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Carnival of Chaos (EIF) Carnival of Chaos (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Sun 12 Apr 2009 - 1:26

Hi there,

thank you all so far! And what do you think about the spell-question

@Cianty: I know that the mace has been forgotten but I was confussed because the one list allowed it to goblins and the other to orcs and goblins. but thanks then i will use the yahoo group list.

@Von Krust: Actually your name is very funny one of my brethren group is called "Gebrüder Krust" Smile but you are correct i dont like the fact of an immortal troll, too.
Shooting in my pov is nothing for orks. In our campaign one of them found a hochland long rifle and has the corresponding skills and BF 4... i sometimes think he is a green one being raised by some reiklanders! But the biggest problem with them is, that they are allowed to have 20(!!!!) members. Imagine 1 Troll and 19 Orcs... (it may be stupid but whats LGT?)

PS: @Cianty, die deutsche ist tatsächlich schrott. Ich habe auch alles beim Start der kampagne geupdatet und der gleichen und auch noch jedem gesagt er soll für seine liste sich die englischen geupdateten daten runterladen, aber da ich persönlich nicht orks spiele habe ich da einfach nicht aufgepasst und erst vor kurzem erfahren wie krass diese liste abweichen... sehr ärgerlich! Sorry dass ich hier so bilingual schreibe dachte nur evtl. interessiert das obige auch wen nicht deutsch sprechendens Smile

PPS: I didnot want this threat to be a discussion about the 'overpowered Orcs' , sorry Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://40kcampaigncologne.blogspot.com/
gewaltatron
Hero
Hero


Posts : 36
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-04-11
Location : CCAA, Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Carnival of Chaos (EIF) Carnival of Chaos (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Sun 12 Apr 2009 - 1:40

sorry asp, i somehow oversaw your post Smile thak you
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://40kcampaigncologne.blogspot.com/
Identity
Elder
Elder


Posts : 368
Trading Reputation : -2
Join date : 2009-01-14
Location : California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Sun 12 Apr 2009 - 3:07

LGT = Lad's Got Talent (a promoted henchman)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
gewaltatron
Hero
Hero


Posts : 36
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-04-11
Location : CCAA, Germany

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Carnival of Chaos (EIF) Carnival of Chaos (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Mon 13 Apr 2009 - 11:42

Hi there, its me again Smile

New questions:

1.) Due to "new" Orc list goblis are allowed to gain experience and so, to increase their characteristics. But is there no racial maximum for goblins? Or do I have to "worry" about goblins with S4, when a halflings maximum lies at S3?

Thank you all so far,
gewaltatron
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://40kcampaigncologne.blogspot.com/
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Mon 13 Apr 2009 - 12:15

Goblins have always been allowed to gain experience Wink

Actually there is no real need for maximum charasteristics since henchmen can increase each stat only once anyways. And since Goblins cannot ever become Heroes there is no need for maximum stats. Smile

I don't know though.. Maybe they were printed in the Rules Review? Did you check that?

EDIT: And of course Gobbos can have S4! Why shouldn't they?

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Mon 13 Apr 2009 - 14:44

As Cianty pointed out they could always gain experience but can not get LGT, well, they can get it but they are put to death...errr..I mean a very special assignment but they never seem to return...hmmm..i wonder....
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Mon 13 Apr 2009 - 16:18

gewaltatron is referring to the warband list that appeared in German White Dwarf where Goblins could not gain experience at all (hence the smiley behind my sentence). Terrible translation mistake.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7013
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Mon 13 Apr 2009 - 18:22

There is a maximum stat line in the Nemesis Crown Forest Goblin warband. Cianty is correct that as henchmen Da Mobs gobbos will never use it.

Goblins not getting St 4--I blame Asp Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions   Today at 10:55

Back to top Go down
 
somethin' about tha green ones...Orcs&Goblins Questions
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Tom's Orcs & Goblins (and Squigs!)
» Orcs and goblins and trolls! Oh my!
» Night Goblins, I never was good at painting greenskins...
» Thogthog's Waagh! (Orcs n Goblins WIP)
» Help with Orc Warband

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: