HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Do you use additional rules?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
JohnYoung
General
General


Posts : 151
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-08-27
Age : 27
Location : Quebec

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Do you use additional rules?   Thu 30 Aug 2007 - 12:11

The question is in the subject.
Do use additional rules, e.g those found at the end of the book+lustria expension etc. ? Or even usefull home-made rules.

I never tried these and I'd like to know if they are well balanced, worth it etc. before trying to add 'em to our games. The (war)horse rule seems fun, as well as the special critical hit chart, but the misfire rule for blackpowder weapon looks like it makes gun unusable. :S
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/skankinriot
Tortiou
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 221
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-08-26
Age : 31
Location : Strasbourg, France

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Thu 30 Aug 2007 - 13:25

We use a home-made rule with Tom, concerning cover. We made this rule after a few games because we were pissed off by the fact that if the target has the tip of his toe covered behind a wall, the WHOLE model gains the -1 to hit bonus. And inversely, a shooter seeing only the hand of the target will be able to shoot on the model with ONLY -1 to hit. This is bullshit !
The rule agreed upon by Tom, Hari, Pat and me is a bit more sophisticated: for each model (be it a dwarf or a huge possessed), we define a "main body" area (= the head, the torso and the thighs). If more than 25% of this "main body" is covered, then the -1 to hit applies. So we simply ignore the arms and legs and weapons.
(correct me if I'm wrong about the 25%, Tom... ) cyclops

I think this is simply more realistic even if we can argue for hours about the percentage of the main body being covered! (but that's the fun in Mordheim, isn't it?)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JohnYoung
General
General


Posts : 151
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-08-27
Age : 27
Location : Quebec

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Thu 30 Aug 2007 - 14:57

He, that's a good idea! I was thinking about coming up with a rule like this next game or at least something like in Warhammer (heavy cover, light cover). Mordheim's cover rule is just ridiculous.

What about insanity rule? I have insanity point appearing on my list because of army builder but I don't know what it is. Where can Ii find these?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.myspace.com/skankinriot
Admin Tom
Admin
Admin


Posts : 2590
Trading Reputation : 12
Join date : 2007-08-25
Location : Vienna/Zurich

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Thu 30 Aug 2007 - 16:19

Nico is right.

We established that every miniature should be reduced to a "cylinder of vital parts". This cylinder includes neither arms nor legs. At least 25% of the cylinder must be covered to give a -1 modifier.

On some very rare occasions we felt that -1 was still not enough, for example when the target is behind an arrow-slit, and have used a -2 modifier.

I made a little graphic that will hopefully make it a little more clear...

Back to top Go down
View user profile http://boringmordheimblog.blogspot.com
organboy
Champion
Champion


Posts : 45
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-01-08
Age : 29
Location : Victoria, Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Mon 14 Jan 2008 - 19:10

In my Mordheim group we use all of the rules from the back of the book. The critical hit rules make fighting combats that little bit more interesting.. (especially when you roll a 6 on the critical chart with a bludgeoning weapon!) The possessed player uses the gifts from the shadowlord and we're beginning to use the rules for mounted models.

Cheers ~ Steve
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Yorik
Champion
Champion


Posts : 44
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-12-30
Age : 32
Location : Germany, in the Black Forest

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Mon 14 Jan 2008 - 19:34

We use some extra rules(posted here in the forum) in addition to the gifts of the shadowlord and blackpowder rules. The additional critical hits table is pretty much useless because it changes game balance totally.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ashton
Forum Engineer
Forum Engineer


Posts : 1156
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-12-07
Age : 31
Location : Polson, MT

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Mon 14 Jan 2008 - 19:58

@ Tom or Tortiou: That is a great rule, I'll be sure to steal that one =) *yoink*

But, what if a entire arm or leg is showing? is that -3? or are you just not allowed to shoot at an arm or foot?

And to answer the question: I haven't played recently, but I'm definitely going to do this:

"If a shooter get's a minus one to hit because of cover, and they roll a number that would have hit if that object had not been in cover, the arrow hits the cover =)

(EXAMPLE: Lets say Rifleman1 needs a 4 to hit, but his target is in cover behind a barrel of gunpowder. Rifleman1 gets -1 to hit so he needs a 5 to hit. If Rifleman1 rolls a 4 he misses his target, but hits the barrel of gunpower. *boom* =])
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://mordheim.ashtonsanders.com
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Tue 15 Jan 2008 - 0:52

In our gaming group the full rulebook is in effect. Advanced critical hit tables make the games so much more interesting. We're using the comprehensive "Blazing saddles" article from the Mordheim Annual instead of the slimer version in the rulebook. Note that we allow more than one mount per warband. Also all official new equipment and academic skills from the "Opulent Goods" and "Ye Olde Curiousity Shoppe" are allowed, of course (both in the Annual). Finally the also official additional rules for wagons etc that can be found in the EIF supplement are in effect.

Since we are playtesting the Border Town Burning supplemnt we are currently using the setting-specific weather rules, new equipment, scenarios, objective rules, etc...

We gerally allow any warband a player wants to play. If it is unofficial and has not been published in Town Cryer we'll have a look at it and decide then if it is allowed.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Tortiou
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 221
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-08-26
Age : 31
Location : Strasbourg, France

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Wed 9 Apr 2008 - 9:08

UP !!!

I think I found the thread concerning the "vital cylinder" and the house rule for cover Smile

cyclops
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ashton
Forum Engineer
Forum Engineer


Posts : 1156
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-12-07
Age : 31
Location : Polson, MT

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Wed 9 Apr 2008 - 10:07

You the man!

Good work!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://mordheim.ashtonsanders.com
Boehm
General
General


Posts : 194
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-09-22
Age : 40
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Wed 9 Apr 2008 - 10:13

anyone tried out some of these rules - regarding parry and armour saves??

http://forum.specialist-games.com/forum.asp?FORUM_ID=7

In our group we played with a simple +1 to armour save if using a shield in closecombat ...thus making dual handweapons a bit less of a no-brainer ...and also indirectly making the two-handed weapons, axes and blackpowder weapons a bit better, since some will actually use armour than ...(other than just hvy. or gromrill)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lanyssa Ryssyll
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 486
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2008-03-02
Age : 31
Location : Paris - France

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Wed 9 Apr 2008 - 11:55

Yes, we tried these rules ! But we don't use the parry rules in our campaign Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Admin Tom
Admin
Admin


Posts : 2590
Trading Reputation : 12
Join date : 2007-08-25
Location : Vienna/Zurich

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Wed 9 Apr 2008 - 13:16

Tortiou wrote:
UP !!!

I think I found the thread concerning the "vital cylinder" and the house rule for cover Smile

cyclops

Tortiou, Tortiou is our man! If he can't do it, no one can!

Bravo ma Tortiou! Smile Bien joué! Je l'ai toujours dit, et je maintiens: c'est une formation d'enfer qu'elles recoivent les soldates des forces spéciales de la U.S.T... comment t'as fait pour trouver ca?!

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://boringmordheimblog.blogspot.com
Tortiou
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 221
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2007-08-26
Age : 31
Location : Strasbourg, France

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Wed 9 Apr 2008 - 18:03

Oh, juste quelques scoutes de l'armée tortue, elles passaient sur le forum, elles ont exploré, m'ont fait un rapport... et voilà! Entrainement spécial tortue! Ca a pris longtemps (une tortue, dieu que c'est lent) mais ca a payé!
confused
bon je vais me coucher ca devient du n'importe quoi, là... Shocked
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Do you use additional rules?   Today at 20:49

Back to top Go down
 
Do you use additional rules?
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Maximum Warband Size - House Rules
» Cursed hillman HS rules
» Rules for mounts and riding
» Changing the Rules? Yes or No?
» "The Victorian Affair"- Rules and Regulations.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: