HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Lanyssa Ryssyll
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 486
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2008-03-02
Age : 31
Location : Paris - France

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...   Wed 11 Feb 2009 - 7:45

I've some trouble with the equipement of the pit fighter, I remembered some confusion when Matt's Krackatoar was sold to the pit during the Boring Meetup, and the same happened last week with a teammate, we don't know exactly how to use this hired sword because :
- he carries a morning star, +1S during the first round of battle, two-handed weapon.
- he carries a spiked gauntlet, which count as a buckler and a melee weapon (like the sword I imagine).
I wanna be sure about what I've supposed about that :
- he can fight with the morning star only, and not parry/have another attack.
- he can fight with the spiked gauntlet, and parry, but not have another attack.
So he has to choose between the parry and +1S on the first round, is it right?
And after this round, he must choose logically to use the spiked gauntlet...

I find it a little bit strange, what about your opinion? Am I right? Rolling Eyes
Back to top Go down
View user profile
AlexBware
Captain
Captain


Posts : 75
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-09-01
Age : 42
Location : Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...   Wed 11 Feb 2009 - 9:01

The morningstar is a singlehanded weapon - so he can attack with both Very Happy - or he might be able to, since the weapon only allows shields to be used in the other hand.
However - the spiked gauntlet is a special weapon/buckler, so I would rule as an exception to the normal rule for morningstars (as heroes can't learn to use it)...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7024
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...   Wed 11 Feb 2009 - 9:11

One of those pesky rules thingys alright. The Morningstar is a single hand weapon but it has that fiddly rule Difficult to use. This rule allows a shield but not an additional hand weapon.

My evil group allows the Pit Fighter to use both with all their abilities because he comes with them. The Pit Fighter could definitely parry with the gauntlet no matter what. I see it as one of those 'oh dear' moments Tomas most have had so often once the rules were published.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...   Wed 11 Feb 2009 - 9:31

This is a one off situation that can not be applied to other warbands. The PF is allowed to use both.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lanyssa Ryssyll
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 486
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2008-03-02
Age : 31
Location : Paris - France

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...   Wed 11 Feb 2009 - 9:45

Okay, that's what I feared !
So, a pit fighter using his 2 weapons has +1A, +1S for the attack with morgenstern, and can parry? affraid

cheers my new hired sword, come on !!!

PS: thanks a lot dudes ! Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
hero
Elder
Elder


Posts : 310
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-05

PostSubject: Re: [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...   Fri 13 Mar 2009 - 11:32

Is the extra attack included in the profile? I hate that they do that cause I'm never sure if just how many attacks henchmen and DP models actually get because it doesn't seem consistent!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Asp
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 659
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-03

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...   Fri 13 Mar 2009 - 11:36

Quote :
Is the extra attack included in the profile?

no, so green pit fighter is:

2 attacks with morning star
1 attack with sword (gauntlet)
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.indadvendt.dk/mordheim/
Lanyssa Ryssyll
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 486
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2008-03-02
Age : 31
Location : Paris - France

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...   Fri 13 Mar 2009 - 11:59

hero wrote:
Is the extra attack included in the profile?

I think just Possessed, Ghouls and Rat Ogre are in that case, because they are "unarmed" Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Identity
Elder
Elder


Posts : 368
Trading Reputation : -2
Join date : 2009-01-14
Location : California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...   Fri 13 Mar 2009 - 13:06

There's a fairly exhaustive discussion of this issue 5 threads below this one.
Edit: found here: http://boringmordheimforum.forumieren.com/rules-and-gameplay-f1/the-pitfighter-spiked-gauntlet-t1646.htm

Lanyssa Ryssyll wrote:
hero wrote:
Is the extra attack included in the profile?
I think just Possessed, Ghouls and Rat Ogre are in that case, because they are "unarmed" Smile
I know Veskit has the annoying "extra attack included in profile" business going on. I'm not sure if any others do. It is a really obnoxious inconsistency in the way information is presented.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...   Today at 2:56

Back to top Go down
 
[Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» [WIP] Hired Sword: Black Orc Overseer
» Warlock (hired sword) - Does his staff count as Weapon ?
» Hired sword choices for beastmen
» [Hired sword] About the pit-fighter...
» Chris' Hired Swords - Warlock, Pit Fighter and Troll Slayer

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: