HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Wings of Darkness question.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
HornedRat
Elder
Elder


Posts : 365
Trading Reputation : 1
Join date : 2008-12-19
Age : 44
Location : Culver City, California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Wings of Darkness question.   Wed 28 Jan 2009 - 20:13

Chaos Ritual Wings of Darkness reads

"The Chaos Mage may Immediately move anywhere within 12", including into base contact with an enemy, in which case he counts as charging...."

Question:
Can someone using Wings of Darkness use it to move themselves AND the treasure chest from the Hidden Treasure Scenario?

In the scenario description it says any man-sized model may pick up the chest, but causes him to move 1/2 speed.

Question:
If he can use Wings of Darkness to move himself and the chest would there be any movement penalities to the spell?? (I wouldn't personally think so, but..)

as the scenario says the model moves at 1/2 speed.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.pbase.com/therat
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7021
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Wings of Darkness question.   Wed 28 Jan 2009 - 21:08

You find interesting questions...

Personally I'm inclined to say he moves 12" because its magic. 6" is pretty good for one model too...

js
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Fallen
Captain
Captain


Posts : 64
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-12-16
Age : 26
Location : Australia

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Beastmen (EIF) Beastmen (EIF)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Wings of Darkness question.   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 2:35

HornedRat wrote:
Chaos Ritual Wings of Darkness reads

"The Chaos Mage may Immediately move anywhere within 12", including into base contact with an enemy, in which case he counts as charging...."
This does not mean he may move with a treasure chest. It says he may move.

Thus, it's a case of "Doesn't say you can, doesn't say you can't" really... I would argue you can't move yourself and the treasure, but others may vary in this opinion because there isn't necessarily a definitive answer (that I am aware of).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Skaw
Hero
Hero


Posts : 37
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-12-07
Age : 32
Location : Alacant, Pa´sos Catalans

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Wings of Darkness question.   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 6:06

Fallen wrote:

Thus, it's a case of "Doesn't say you can, doesn't say you can't" really... I would argue you can't move yourself and the treasure

Why? I'll understand if i the ritual was "Teleport", but this ritual makes grow wings (apparently) to the caster, so I say "yes, he can fly and grab a stone (or put the stone at the pocket/backpack/whatever) at the same time"
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Lanyssa Ryssyll
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 486
Trading Reputation : 2
Join date : 2008-03-02
Age : 31
Location : Paris - France

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Wings of Darkness question.   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 8:14

For me, the response is "Yes, he can, but only at 6ps". Why ? Because the spell says "move", and the description for carrying treasure chest tells "move 1/2 speed", so 12ps / 2 = 6ps.
That's the way we play my bro and me Smile

It's logic, isn't it? A big heavy treasure, you have to carry it, even if you have wings. You can use them, but your arms have the same problem than when you carry it on the floor thumbsup
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Skaw
Hero
Hero


Posts : 37
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-12-07
Age : 32
Location : Alacant, Pa´sos Catalans

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Ostlanders Ostlanders
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Wings of Darkness question.   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 8:39

Lanyssa Ryssyll wrote:
For me, the response is "Yes, he can, but only at 6ps". Why ? Because the spell says "move", and the description for carrying treasure chest tells "move 1/2 speed", so 12ps / 2 = 6ps.
That's the way we play my bro and me Smile

It's logic, isn't it? A big heavy treasure, you have to carry it, even if you have wings. You can use them, but your arms have the same problem than when you carry it on the floor thumbsup

You're right.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Wings of Darkness question.   Today at 4:37

Back to top Go down
 
Wings of Darkness question.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Eccentric Wings
» Three Days of Darkness and the Coming Flood
» Question About Gladiator beasts.
» Dark Fusion / Mirror Force question
» Faerie Wings - crochet

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: