HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Interception: ARGH!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
magokiron
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 409
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-05
Location : Mexico City

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 0:59

From Tuomas, TOWN CRYER 8, pag 8.

Designer's Cut

Here is a little something that will hopefully make the interception rules a bit more realistic. This piece of text is meant to replace the original rules for intercepted charges.

A model can charge any model within its charge range, but it may not charge a model if there is another unengaged (i.e. not in hand to hand combat) enemy model within 2" of the charge route. It will be undoubtedly intercepted if it tryes to run past the enemy!

In this situation, move the intercepting model into the charge path and the charging model engages the intercepting model instead of his original target. The charging model still counts as charging for the purposes of determining the strike order, weapon bonuses, etc. and taking any required psicology tests.

If the charger fails to get into contact with the intercepting model for any reason (such as a failed fear test) the intercepting model is still moved to a position where it could have intercepted the charge - it's sudden appearance is the reason for the failed charge, after all!

I heartily recommend that you try out this rule modification. I use it in my own games, and it add an additional level of excitement to the game.
-----------------------

Hope that helps defining this matter.

Best wishes
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 4:35

Cool, I knew there was something put out there.

Thanks for sharing. I kept thinking it was in a higher numbered TC.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 9:19

"...but it may not charge a model if there is another unengaged (i.e. not in hand to hand combat) enemy model within 2" of the charge route. It will be undoubtedly intercepted if it tryes to run past the enemy!"

I like that there are complete rules on movement of intercepting models. Good find! However, the lines I quoted above encapsulate the argument in my group. What takes precedence? The line "within 2 inches of the charge route" or the phrase "run past?" It's the football field VS race track argument all over again. ARGH!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 12:56

It is not that difficult, to date I have never had a problem understanding this.

It is a challenging to explain over the net.

It is like the diagram in the book, go with that and you will be fine.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PitFighterTrainer
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 413
Trading Reputation : 4
Join date : 2009-01-19
Location : Houston, TX

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pit Fighters (Unofficial) Pit Fighters (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 13:03

Da Bank wrote:
It is not that difficult, to date I have never had a problem understanding this.

So here's a wrench to consider...

PitFighter Pursuers Evade skill...

Pursuer can be used to Evade a charging model by intercepting the model. If the PitFighter passes an initiative test, then the charge is considered a failed charge.

Now, the wrench. Considering it was an Evade, I would be tempted to state that the PitFighter has to move to the charge path, to show his skill taking place. NOW, since he moved up to 2 inches, would he be able to continue to Intercept and Evade more charges for other models nearby within the 2" rule, and continue to do so for the rest of the declared charges, assuming that the order of charges continues to move the pitfighter to benifit his allies, AND he continues to pass the Initiative tests.

LOL, it would be funny though... Like a PitFighter Ninja fending off attackers with a twirling trident. Yes, even if he failed, he would be granted First Strike with the Trident. NASTY COMBO!!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 13:15

The thought had occurred to me as well-->You mean my one fear causing guy can force checks on your entire charging warband? Intercept...intercept...intercept...Sweet! Nobody charges.

I'd limit defending models to one intercept move per charge phase. Otherwise it just gets silly.


Last edited by DRD1812 on Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 14:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Oldcastle
Champion
Champion


Posts : 43
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-09-15
Age : 53
Location : Wichita, KS

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Reiklanders Reiklanders
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 13:32

HornedRat wrote:
Not to Hijack the thread, but I played a game this weekend and this came up. My group is pretty clear on the whole intercpet thing, but the question I had is.

Can you intercept a diving charge? and if so does the charger get the same bounses for first round of combat?

I would say yes... A diving charge is just a charge with extra bonuses (if you pull it off). And, a couple of weeks ago, I did just that in our local game.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 13:38

Which PF rules are you using the 1st ones or second ones?

Diving Charge? Sure. As long as the intercepting model is in front of the intended target.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PitFighterTrainer
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 413
Trading Reputation : 4
Join date : 2009-01-19
Location : Houston, TX

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pit Fighters (Unofficial) Pit Fighters (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 13:51

Da Bank wrote:
Which PF rules are you using the 1st ones or second ones?

Second Rules, not TC14, but TC21 updated ones. Evade Skill.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PitFighterTrainer
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 413
Trading Reputation : 4
Join date : 2009-01-19
Location : Houston, TX

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pit Fighters (Unofficial) Pit Fighters (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 13:53

Evade:
Pursuers are agile and athletic, well adept at avoiding the heavier Pit Fighters’ charges. When an enemy charges a Pursuer hemay choose to try and evade. On a successful Initiative test it is considered a failed chargeand the normal rules apply.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 14:25

Oh yes, I remember those guys. They were used on me a few times.

Yes, the evade skill work and here is why. In the rules, it says if an interceptor causes fear than the charger will have to take a fear test.

If the
intercepting warrior causes fear then move the
models into contact and then take a Fear test for the
original charger (assuming he would normally do so)
as if he was the one being charged. Regardless of the
results of this test it is still the original charger who
counts as charging in the subsequent round of
combat, not the intercepting warrior.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PitFighterTrainer
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 413
Trading Reputation : 4
Join date : 2009-01-19
Location : Houston, TX

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pit Fighters (Unofficial) Pit Fighters (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 14:32

Pit Fighter Pursuers with Tridents and an Initiative increase are some of the best henchmen out there. Evade, Strike First, Parry, Pit Fighter Skill all to start off with! He can keep your heroes covered, keep foes guessing as to who to charge and when to charge, get the first attack in, most times, and gets an extra attack and +1 WS in ruins and buildings. All for 50gc on the Henchman, which is the CHEAPEST Pit Fighter you can hire. Plus, add in the NET, and he can really mess up the opponents tactics.

Sorry, I think I hijacked this thread... APOLOGIES! But, Intercept was a major thing I used with these guys, and it works well with them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7018
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Thu 29 Jan 2009 - 20:29

DRD1812 wrote:
"...but it may not charge a model if there is another unengaged (i.e. not in hand to hand combat) enemy model within 2" of the charge route. It will be undoubtedly intercepted if it tryes to run past the enemy!"

I like that there are complete rules on movement of intercepting models. Good find! However, the lines I quoted above encapsulate the argument in my group. What takes precedence? The line "within 2 inches of the charge route" or the phrase "run past?" It's the football field VS race track argument all over again. ARGH!

Did these rules come from the old rule book? If so check out the PDF and some of the problem goes away sinced the new rules change the wording. That should help clear up the may not charge thing...

js
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Fri 30 Jan 2009 - 0:39

Von Kurst: how do you personally rule it? Does the interceptor have to be in front of the charge target, or can he be slightly behind/to the side so long as he's within 2" of the charge route?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Von Kurst
Distinguished Poster
Distinguished Poster


Posts : 7018
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2009-01-18

Personal Info
Primary Warband played:
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Fri 30 Jan 2009 - 2:26

Von Kurst wrote:


My group plays that you may not intercept if you are not closer to the charger than the model being charged. If you are behind the model being charged, you can't intercept. If you are next to the model being charged but an equal distance to the charger, you can't intercept. Mostly this is clear from just looking. We declare charges one at a time, so that any models that can intercept have the opportunity. If other charges are blocked as a result, then those models may chose another target or move/shoot normally.

js
pirat
Back to top Go down
View user profile
DRD1812
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 229
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-28
Location : Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Fri 30 Jan 2009 - 8:24

Great ruling, Von Kurst. That clarifies everything nicely. I think I'll push for that interpretation amongst my group.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Interception: ARGH!   Today at 13:12

Back to top Go down
 
Interception: ARGH!
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2
 Similar topics
-
» What is Interception?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: