HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 Ledz Go Spell

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Cinderspark
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 8
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-17

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Ledz Go Spell   Sat 17 Jan 2009 - 7:33

Hello all, first post here!

I was hoping for some clarification as to the 'Ledz Go' spell for Orcs.

Rules errata states;
"Sometimes a model will be allowed to ‘strike first’
for some reason. Most commonly this is because they charged in that turn,
but some equipment, skills and spells produce the same effect. If only one
model ‘strikes first’ then it does so and the remainder of the combatants
strike in Initiative order as described above.
If there are several models who are each entitled to
‘strike first’, then they determine the order of combat between themselves
by Initiative, as described above. Once all those that were eligible to
‘strike first’ have fought, any other combatants fight in Initiative order.”


However the Ledz Go spell states;Any Orc or Goblin within 4" of the Shaman will automatically strike first in hand-to-hand combat regardless of
other circumstances
.


Does the Orc or Goblin effected by the spell strike first no matter what or go on initiative comparison?
BTW great site!

I <3 Squigs! bounce
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JAFisher44
General
General


Posts : 183
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-15
Age : 39
Location : Elma, WA, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Sat 17 Jan 2009 - 16:18

On the SG forums it was ruled by the ANSWER_MODS that the spell lets the Orcs go before 'strike first' models. I argued that it should just grant 'strike first' to the Orcs, but it fell on deaf ears.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Cinderspark
Youngblood
Youngblood


Posts : 8
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-17

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Skaven Skaven
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Sat 17 Jan 2009 - 18:00

Thanks for the reply.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Sat 17 Jan 2009 - 18:08

The spell rules spell it out exactly how it is to played. The errata is an afterthought.

The spells says regardless of other circumstances.

I have no idea what I was drinking at this time as I did not check my records, per the author of Da Mob. It is a normal Strikes First.


Last edited by Da Bank on Sat 24 Oct 2009 - 20:14; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : Updated for current understanding.)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pathfinder Dubstyles
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 772
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-04-10
Age : 32
Location : North Carolina, US

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Possessed Possessed
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Sat 17 Jan 2009 - 19:48

It's a shame to see the errata not effect Led's Go. This spell along with Fooled Ya is what ended a campaign for me.

The one player would huddle every model in his warband around his shaman and dare you to attack but you can't hurt the shaman to end the spell (no shooty warbands). No one would play against the Orc player and the campaign eventually died out. I argued it should be like other firsk strike effects to no avail.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.creativecasualty.net
Horatius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 232
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-09-01

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Sisters of Sigmar Sisters of Sigmar
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Sat 17 Jan 2009 - 23:31

I think the mod´s answer is the correct one not only from a rules point of view but also from a gameplay point of view. Orcs have ini 2 for their orcboys and ini 3 for their heroes and gobbos. With that low initiative a "normal" strike first would be relatively worthless for a difficulty 9 spell.
On the other hand the spell as written lasts forever (till the caster is knocked down or worse), if a group thinks that is too strong would houserule that it lasts only for one or two turns.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JAFisher44
General
General


Posts : 183
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-15
Age : 39
Location : Elma, WA, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Sun 18 Jan 2009 - 2:24

Even with initiative 2 and 3 the spell is not useless if it only grants 'strike first'. It still lets the Orcs go first in most cases. It isn't like every model has 'strike first' all the time. Granted most models will still get to go first on the charge, but without the spell most models will be going first all the time. If the Orc player outmaneuvers his opponent and denies him charges, he will still be going first all the time against most models.

In my opinion the Orc Warband is pretty beardy, especially the spells.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Sun 18 Jan 2009 - 12:08

The Orcs are far from beardy.

People just need to know how to play.

There is more to be said about a dwarf warband than the Orcs and with them I don't say anything as overall the official warbands are pretty sound.

The other thing people are forgetting is now your shaman is within 4 inches of close combat and and quickly attacked.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JAFisher44
General
General


Posts : 183
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-15
Age : 39
Location : Elma, WA, USA

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Dwarfs Dwarfs
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Thu 22 Jan 2009 - 2:02

lol, I just think it is funny. Over in the "large creature henchmen" thread people keep bringing up the fact that the Troll is the only large creature worth buying. But, sure, Orcs aren't beardy.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PitFighterTrainer
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 413
Trading Reputation : 4
Join date : 2009-01-19
Location : Houston, TX

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pit Fighters (Unofficial) Pit Fighters (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Thu 22 Jan 2009 - 8:25

JAFisher44 wrote:
lol, I just think it is funny. Over in the "large creature henchmen" thread people keep bringing up the fact that the Troll is the only large creature worth buying. But, sure, Orcs aren't beardy.

I tend to have to throw in the Pit Fighter Ogre as even better. Reason: He can become a HERO! Which, I am proud to say, mine became a hero in my current warband after 2 matches! WOOHOO!!!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Identity
Elder
Elder


Posts : 368
Trading Reputation : -2
Join date : 2009-01-14
Location : California

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Thu 22 Jan 2009 - 15:46

PitFighterTrainer wrote:
mine became a hero in my current warband after 2 matches! WOOHOO!!!

Don't they gain half experience? scratch
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PitFighterTrainer
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 413
Trading Reputation : 4
Join date : 2009-01-19
Location : Houston, TX

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Pit Fighters (Unofficial) Pit Fighters (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Thu 22 Jan 2009 - 16:30

Identity wrote:
PitFighterTrainer wrote:
mine became a hero in my current warband after 2 matches! WOOHOO!!!

Don't they gain half experience? scratch

Yes, they DO gain half xp. Still after 2 matches, that's 1 point for surviving. Luckily, he also picked up a few wyrdstone counters to gain more xp as well.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
magokiron
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 409
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2009-01-05
Location : Mexico City

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Thu 22 Jan 2009 - 21:18

Imo, the spell just gives "first strike" to greenskins.

"Regardless of other circumstances" will refer to enemy models charges, enemies with long weapons in the receiving end of a charge, greenskins that were on the ground and standed up this turn in the recovery phase (and because of that they should attack last), etc.

In WHFB rules, and in Mordheim rulebook, doesn't exists such a thing as a "first, first, REALLY FIRST strike".

A model can "strike first" or can't. End of the story.

If both engaged models has "strike first", then it goes to I.

Period.

But then, that's only my opinion, and the way we play it.

Hope that helps.

Best wishes.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   Sat 24 Jan 2009 - 14:26

Normal Strike's First rules apply


Last edited by Da Bank on Sat 24 Oct 2009 - 20:15; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : updated for current understanding)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Ledz Go Spell   

Back to top Go down
 
Ledz Go Spell
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Trap Reactor Y FI and Spell Reactor RE
» equip spell/warrior combo
» Hammer of Sigmar Spell
» H: Storm of Magic Spell Cards...W: What do you have?
» How do you spell ok?

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: