HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!

Share | 
 

 BTB FAQ Query

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
catferret
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 508
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-10

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: BTB FAQ Query   Tue 13 Jan 2009 - 6:06

I have noticed something that I think needs clarifying in the BTB supplement.

The FAQ has a question about Marauders becoming heroes and losing access to a throwing axe they may have been armed with. However, my understanding of the rules was that a promoted henchman is still the same warrior type and uses the same equipment (whatever list he could access previously) despite having been promoted.

I might believe this to be a special Marauder warband rule, if it wasn't for the wording in the Chosen of Chaos skill which grants access to the Hero weapons if said hero did not already have access. This, to me, supports the idea that henchmen are still their warrior type and use their old warrior equipment lists.

Could somebody clarify please.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Wed 14 Jan 2009 - 7:48

catferret wrote:
The FAQ has a question about Marauders becoming heroes and losing access to a throwing axe they may have been armed with. However, my understanding of the rules was that a promoted henchman is still the same warrior type and uses the same equipment (whatever list he could access previously) despite having been promoted.

Basically this is the problem/confusion. We did discuss this and we came to the conclusion that a henchman that becomes a Hero then uses the Hero equipment list. Actually I am not sure if this is how it is supposed to be and for most warbands it doesn't even matter because the equipment lists are specific to the warrior's type (Marksmen e.g. will always use the marksmen table). This is how we have been always playing it. However, in Mordheim there are some rules that gaming groups are misinerpreting and applying wrongly for years. Some groups will only discover after years that a Rout test must be taken every single turn and not once the next 25% have been taken out of action. It can very well be the case that we were applying the henchmen/hero equipment rules incorrectly. I did look this up on the FAQ on Mordheimer.com but couldn't find anything on there.

Bottom line is: we included this bit to clarify the situation and we settled on this solution as we thought it was how it should be handled. This is indeed intended to be a general ruling (or say clarification of the official rules) for a question not officially answered elsewhere. Now, if someone can tell me what the official rules are on this (and I expect there to be no official rules, only "obvious" interpretaitons) then I will immediately change it. Maybe DaBank can say what he thinks. The bottom line is "Do Henchmen who become Heroes still use their old equipment list or do they they then use the Heroes' equipment list?". Now that I am writing this I feel like it would be more intuitive to assume that they keep their list.. oO Anyways, if we can settle on an "official" ruling then I will amend the FAQ accordingly.

catferret wrote:
I might believe this to be a special Marauder warband rule, if it wasn't for the wording in the Chosen of Chaos skill which grants access to the Hero weapons if said hero did not already have access. This, to me, supports the idea that henchmen are still their warrior type and use their old warrior equipment lists.

Geez, in fact, the "He uses the maximum profile for Warriors of Chaos and the Hero equipment list (if he does not already)" bit doesn't make any sense at all with the FAQ and is totally superflous (because in the FAQ we are assuming that marauders lose their access to the henchmen chart when they become Heroes anyways). I blame the long development phase for this Razz Since the marauders were the very first warband I ever wrote (although adjusted often times thereafter) I think this is a relic from 2004 when I was working under another assumption that doesn't match with how we are playing it now. Dammit...

So we need to settle on the question above and then I will either delete the superflous sentence, or, adjust the FAQ accordingly. It all depends on which answer we can generally accept.

What are other people's thoughts?

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
catferret
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 508
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-10

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Wed 14 Jan 2009 - 8:15

One of the things that support the idea of promoted henchmen keeping old weapons is a simple human mercenary marksman. He uses his longbow and gets really good with it. Then gets promoted and suddenly forgets how to use it and has to buy a regular bow until he buys a skill that lets him use any missile weapon. It just doesn't make any sense to me. He's still a marksman and counts towards the 0-7 marksman limit, he's just a talented marksman now.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Horatius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts : 232
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-09-01

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Sisters of Sigmar Sisters of Sigmar
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Wed 14 Jan 2009 - 8:34

Good question. Since the rules say (on page 82 under the lad´s got talent) "The new Hero remains the same Henchman type (eg,a Ghoul stays as a Ghoul)..." I think that he retains all the advantages / disadvantages of his henchmen type including their equipment list. If that was not the case the witchhunters could equip promoted flagellants with pistols and crossbows and a ghoul hero could get equipment No .
So the promoted marauder henchmen should not get the hero equipment list unless you as the creator of the warband want to make a special rule for them Cianty Wink .
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Wed 14 Jan 2009 - 9:06

Yeah, you guys are probably right and I feel stupid not having realized this before the release.

Horatius wrote:
So the promoted marauder henchmen should not get the hero equipment list unless you as the creator of the warband want to make a special rule for them Cianty Wink .

Well, I'm not gonna change the warband rules only to conceal my stupidness. However, this means that in my gaming group it has never occured that a LGT was using throwing axes which he could have been doing. Fortunately this is not a problem because the max Strength of a Hero is the same as for a normal henchman - S4. So this does not open the door to any unfairness. The Chosen of Chaos skill, which gives access to S5, then disallows access to throwing axes so everthing is good. Seems like we need to amend the FAQ entry...


Q: Henchmen may use throwing axes but heroes may not. What happens to a Marauder henchman with 'Lad's got talent'?
A: If a henchman from any warband becomes a hero due to 'Lad's got talent' then he still uses gear from his original equipment list. A marauder henchman who becomes a talented lad is therefore still eligible to use throwing axes. However, if the warrior learns the Chosen of Chaos skill they must be put to the warband’s stored equipment immediately.


Thanks for spotting this mistake, cat and thanks to both of you for enlightening me.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Lord Xi
General
General


Posts : 154
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-28
Age : 33
Location : Utah

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Wed 14 Jan 2009 - 12:46

Wait why can't a Chosen of Chaos use throwing axes?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://grimdarkvoid.blogspot.com/
Ethlorien
Ancient
Ancient


Posts : 475
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-09-04
Age : 36
Location : Calgary, AB

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marauders (BTB) Marauders (BTB)
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Wed 14 Jan 2009 - 12:51

'Cause you're a Chosen of Chaos! You don't toss little sticks at your enemies; you march right up to them and jam a 6' long sword down their throats is why. Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Wed 14 Jan 2009 - 12:54

Ethlorien wrote:
'Cause you're a Chosen of Chaos! You don't toss little sticks at your enemies; you march right up to them and jam a 6' long sword down their throats is why. Smile

Exactly. It's unheard of for Chaos Warriors to use throwing axes.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Lord Xi
General
General


Posts : 154
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-11-28
Age : 33
Location : Utah

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Witch Hunters Witch Hunters
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Wed 14 Jan 2009 - 13:23

cianty wrote:
Ethlorien wrote:
'Cause you're a Chosen of Chaos! You don't toss little sticks at your enemies; you march right up to them and jam a 6' long sword down their throats is why. Smile

Exactly. It's unheard of for Chaos Warriors to use throwing axes.

...

I think its one of those things of taste. If I rose through the ranks from goober to Chosen of Chaos on the backs of my trusty throwing axes, well, I'd just have bigger axes!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://grimdarkvoid.blogspot.com/
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts : 1866
Trading Reputation : 3
Join date : 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Thu 15 Jan 2009 - 14:14

Cianty...sorry I missed the part with my name in it. LOL

Yes, they would get to take their equipment (Henchment to LGT) and still use it as it makes no sense that they would suddenly forget how to use it.

Of course, like Cianty pointed out for this warband if you take the Chosen skill then that supercedes the other rule.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
catferret
Venerable Ancient
Venerable Ancient


Posts : 508
Trading Reputation : 0
Join date : 2008-08-10

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Kislevites Kislevites
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Thu 15 Jan 2009 - 14:20

Thanks Cianty and Da Bank for the clarification. Means the throwing axe marauder I have in the works will still be usable if he makes it to hero status. Very Happy
Back to top Go down
View user profile
cianty
Honour Guard
Honour Guard


Posts : 5274
Trading Reputation : 5
Join date : 2007-09-27
Location : Berlin

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Monks (BTB) Monks (BTB)
Achievements earned: Silver Tom Silver Tom

PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Fri 16 Jan 2009 - 1:26

catferret wrote:
Thanks Cianty and Da Bank for the clarification. Means the throwing axe marauder I have in the works will still be usable if he makes it to hero status. Very Happy

Yes, indeed.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cianty-tabletop.blogspot.com/
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: BTB FAQ Query   Today at 5:12

Back to top Go down
 
BTB FAQ Query
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» How to Query an Agent
» Query Letter Feedback
» SYN- Query
» Query for Chasing the Sandpiper
» Query on pipe fitting..

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum :: General Discussion :: Rules and Gameplay-
Jump to: