HomeFAQSearchRegisterUsergroupsBlogLog inGolden Tom 2014 Thread!
Share | 
 

 Announce targets with multiple weapons?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
SomeOrc
Knight
Knight


Posts: 99
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2008-11-06

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Announce targets with multiple weapons?   Mon 22 Dec 2008 - 15:25

Hello,

someone who played BTB Ogres with us last time put forth that on multiple attacks (2 weapons, or an Ogre with multiple attacks, or slings within range) must announce which targets are going to be hit *before* the very first dice is rolled, the same way it happens in WHFB.

Is that true?

Thanks!

EDIT: To clarify, he proposed that *first*, all targets for all attacks have to be declared, before even the first attack is rolled.


Last edited by SomeOrc on Mon 22 Dec 2008 - 16:36; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MyLittlePwny
Elder
Elder


Posts: 364
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2008-11-20
Age: 29
Location: Copenhagen_Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Announce targets with multiple weapons?   Mon 22 Dec 2008 - 15:28

yes it is - unless you have different initiative attacks (as far as i know only possible with mounts, mutation extra arm and a 2 hander, and saurus bite attack) then you have different phases of attacks and can choose the attacks for one phase at a time (still dividing all attacks before rolling in each phase though)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
SomeOrc
Knight
Knight


Posts: 99
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2008-11-06

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Announce targets with multiple weapons?   Mon 22 Dec 2008 - 16:38

Example: My model with 2 weapons is engaged with 2 enemies. I declare "sword on enemy 1" and roll the to-hit, to-wound, etc. rolls. Then I declare "dagger on enemy 2" and roll the to-hit, to-wound etc. of the dagger.

(But I could also of course direct the dagger at enemy 1 again unless it got stunned or k.o.'ed by the sword.)

Is this correct?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MyLittlePwny
Elder
Elder


Posts: 364
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2008-11-20
Age: 29
Location: Copenhagen_Denmark

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Lizardmen (Unofficial) Lizardmen (Unofficial)
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Announce targets with multiple weapons?   Mon 22 Dec 2008 - 22:09

No, you must declare all attacks before rolling. For example: a guy fighting 2 enemies, he's carrying a sword and a club and he have base 2 attacks. (2 with club, 1 with sword) He must choose which of the enemy models he'll hit with which weapon before starting his attack phase at all - to avoid that the first attack knocks down the opponent and thus giving you an extra swing that was originally intended on another model Smile
hope i'm clear enough Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Da Bank
Rules Guru
Rules Guru


Posts: 1851
Trading Reputation: 3
Join date: 2008-01-26

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Marienburgers Marienburgers
Achievements earned: None

PostSubject: Re: Announce targets with multiple weapons?   Tue 23 Dec 2008 - 2:57

Yes, MYLittlepwny is correct.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
SomeOrc
Knight
Knight


Posts: 99
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2008-11-06

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Announce targets with multiple weapons?   Tue 23 Dec 2008 - 4:39

Can you point out where that can be read in the rules? I can't find it... (I can find neither something supporting the one view or the other).
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Horatius
Warlord
Warlord


Posts: 232
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2008-09-01

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Sisters of Sigmar Sisters of Sigmar
Achievements earned:

PostSubject: Re: Announce targets with multiple weapons?   Tue 23 Dec 2008 - 6:06

Thatīs easy:
Quote from Page 18 "which models fight:
....If a warrior is touching more than one enemy, he can
choose which to attack. If he has more than 1 Attack,
he can divide them in any way the player wishes, so
long as he makes this clear before rolling to hit."

If you read the next paragraph on page 19 it becomes even clearer Wink :
"hitting the enemy
To determine whether hits are scored, roll
a D6 for each model fighting. If a model has
more than 1 Attack roll a D6 for each attack."
Wounding is dealt with in a later paragraph.A good guideline when trying to understand any rules is looking at the sequence in which they are appearing in the rulebook, generally this indicates the order in which they are done in the game.

So basically you announce all models you want to attack and with how many attacks you attack each of them. After that all dice rolls for hitting the enemy have to be done BEFORE you roll to wound, together this prevents you from taking advantage of "early hits" to attack other models.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
SomeOrc
Knight
Knight


Posts: 99
Trading Reputation: 0
Join date: 2008-11-06

Personal Info
Primary Warband played: Orcs & Goblins Orcs & Goblins
Achievements earned: none

PostSubject: Re: Announce targets with multiple weapons?   Tue 23 Dec 2008 - 10:43

Doh, ok. Plain and simple. Thanks for pointing it out. I love you

How about slings with their double attacks? The same?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
 

Announce targets with multiple weapons?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» U.S. law targets 'conflict minerals' in Congo
» Dolphins announce more changes to coaching staff
» Dolphins announce full list of coaching changes
» Weapons of Koltus
» Play Wolfenstein 3D and get Money For Weapons in new Game!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Tom's Boring Mordheim Forum ::  :: -